It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 7:55 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:27 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 12:53 pm
Posts: 278
Location: Wisconsin, U.S. KI: 149434
A friend of mine has asked if anyone knows:
Will MOUL Again run on a linux OS with Wine or similar emulation software?

I run Windoze so cannot answer. :(

_________________
Shandi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:20 pm
Posts: 303
Well, from all reports, it runs under Cider/Crossover Games/Wine on Mac OSX, so by all rights it should run under Wine.

_________________
Avatar: Anaerin
Ki: 118686


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 10:55 pm
Posts: 625
I am running MOUL on wine 1.1.38 with only one problem. The cursor does not draw correctly. Other than that, sound video and everything else is perfect :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:04 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 12:53 pm
Posts: 278
Location: Wisconsin, U.S. KI: 149434
Wicked cool!

_________________
Shandi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:39 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 7:19 pm
Posts: 148
All i need to do is install it?

Is there any special steps I should take to properly install?

Is there a compatability mode i should set when installing/playing?

Will this puppy run on Wine 1.1.37?


I'd appreciate all answers to my questions. Details on how to get it installed and running properly. This will save me from running this on my VMWare setup.


Thanks in advance,

Mr. Gage V. Blackwood

_________________
"The invention of time travel may in the future save humanity, by teaching the world to avoid the tragic mistakes of the past."
- Dr. Eliot Sinclair


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 12:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 10:55 pm
Posts: 625
Mr. Blackwood wrote:
All i need to do is install it?

Is there any special steps I should take to properly install?

You'll need to use winetricks to install mfc42 first, to make the installer work.

Mr. Blackwood wrote:
Is there a compatability mode i should set when installing/playing?

I didn't set anything special

Mr. Blackwood wrote:
Will this puppy run on Wine 1.1.37?

I don't see why not. According to the WINE information, URU has been 99% functional for a while now


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 1:35 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:36 pm
Posts: 145
I'm on Wine 1.1.31, Ubuntu 9.10

I've run the full install, but I can't get past Initializing Patcher. I'm not even getting to the check for updates part.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks,

Katreeny


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 10:55 pm
Posts: 625
katreeny wrote:
I'm on Wine 1.1.31, Ubuntu 9.10

I've run the full install, but I can't get past Initializing Patcher. I'm not even getting to the check for updates part.


I believe that's just the normal server overload issue at that point. It's probably just a matter of waiting for the new server hardware to come online. If it's still not working once they announce the new hardware is running, run it in a console (instructions below) and copy the output here. I can compare it to my output tonight to see if there's a game-breaking difference in your version of Wine.

Code:
wine ~/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files/Uru\ Live/UruLauncher.exe


PS: I'm going to PM a moderator today and ask really nicely if we can have a WINE community-support sticky.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:20 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 7:19 pm
Posts: 148
That would be a fantastic idea, since i'm now at the Checking for update stage...


(Part of me should have seen this coming.)


http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc29 ... oading.png


(Yes, i like star trek)

_________________
"The invention of time travel may in the future save humanity, by teaching the world to avoid the tragic mistakes of the past."
- Dr. Eliot Sinclair


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 10:55 pm
Posts: 625
Mr. Blackwood wrote:
That would be a fantastic idea, since i'm now at the Checking for update stage...
...
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc29 ... oading.png


Congratulations, it's working! Or at least the patcher is.

I suggest you start it from a terminal window (with my instructions above), give it a couple minutes, and if it doesn't do anything hit CTRL+C in the terminal to kill the launcher (this is equivalent to the "kill it in the task manager" step for Windows users).

If the terminal really scares you, you can also launch it normally and kill the process with the GNOME task-manager-equivalent, but I'm not familiar enough with GNOME to tell you how to use that.

Keep repeating either try it/kill it loop until you get in :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:44 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 7:19 pm
Posts: 148
I'm trying now...now i wait...

_________________
"The invention of time travel may in the future save humanity, by teaching the world to avoid the tragic mistakes of the past."
- Dr. Eliot Sinclair


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 1:44 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:36 pm
Posts: 145
Wine got me all the way to missing PhysX - and won't install because it's detecting the environment as pre-XP.

How do I get PhysX in?

Katreeny


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 1:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 10:55 pm
Posts: 625
katreeny wrote:
Wine got me all the way to missing PhysX - and won't install because it's detecting the environment as pre-XP.

How do I get PhysX in?

Katreeny


Open a terminal or the run dialog and run the command "winecfg" (no quotes). Windows version selection is towards the bottom-right of the dialog. Change it, hit OK, and launch Uru again to re-start the PhysX installation.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 2:08 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 7:19 pm
Posts: 148
I didn't notice physx on mine...did it do it automatically?

_________________
"The invention of time travel may in the future save humanity, by teaching the world to avoid the tragic mistakes of the past."
- Dr. Eliot Sinclair


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 2:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 10:55 pm
Posts: 625
It installs it the first time the game actually launches, once you've logged in, IIRC


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: