It is currently Mon Jul 24, 2017 2:50 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Open Source: Q&A!
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 1:52 am 
Obduction Backer

I am now hosting Q&As not only on setting up Shards, but on any Open Source subject. Feel free to come!
Time: 19:00 KI Time, Saturdays, OpenUru.org Hood

----- ORIGINAL MESSAGE ------
Open Source is here, and has been for almost a year! It is now extremely easy for anyone with a decent set of technical knowledge and enough willingness to set up a personal Uru server (also known as a shard). I myself, although a complete novice to Open Source Uru, have managed to set up my own shard thanks to the help of other people at OpenUru.org (OU) and the Guild of Writers (GoW), and I am now willing to help others who might be struggling with the same problems I had.

Therefore, since there seems to be a reasonable demand for such help, I'm announcing that I will be holding an in-game Q&A session to help you out with setting up your own personal Uru server! No time has been fixed as of yet, and this will have be discussed, but my best time slot right now would be any Saturday at 9:00 PM UTC/GMT -5 hours (I'm not writing this in KI-Time to avoid confusions because of the upcoming time adjustment). The sooner the better! The Q&A would last somewhere between 1:00 and 1:30, depending on the time slot used, and there might be follow-ups, reprisals for new participants, and additional OOC help. So, I'm all ears. :D

Technical information: as I have not yet tried out DIRTSAND (although this is on my to-do list; stay tuned for future Q&A sessions!) I will be using MOSS by a'moaca' and cjkelly1 for the server software reference. Similarly, since most people will be unable to compile OpenUru's CWE client, which requires Visual Studio 2003 (although plans for supporting Visual Studio 2010 are underway), I will be offering help solely about H'uru's CWE client. The two pieces of software can both easily interface with each other.