It is currently Tue Oct 15, 2019 11:06 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 438 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 ... 30  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: What about ZERO?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 4:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 1023
Location: Maryland, USA
Silly question... maybe :D

Everyone seems to forget that any scale has an extra point on it that they all forget... the ZERO point. A scale that goes from 0 to 10 has 11 points if you count the zero.

Are there any pellet receipes that actually create pellets that have zero output on the tester machine in the silo and if so, what is the effect?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: What about ZERO?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 5:27 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:52 pm
Posts: 521
johnsojc wrote:
Silly question... maybe :D

Everyone seems to forget that any scale has an extra point on it that they all forget... the ZERO point. A scale that goes from 0 to 10 has 11 points if you count the zero.

Are there any pellet receipes that actually create pellets that have zero output on the tester machine in the silo and if so, what is the effect?


You can't start baking before you set all the sliders in the four machines to a value other than 0...

Oh, and you have 4 ovens so that you can use different settings in each! The most powerful AND quick recipes I've seen recquire you to set the ovens differently. And you get 5 pellets because the ovens simpy cook the substance that makes the pellets - this substance is then taken to the last room and compressed in 5 pellets.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: What about ZERO?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 1023
Location: Maryland, USA
joaopedro wrote:
johnsojc wrote:
Silly question... maybe :D

Everyone seems to forget that any scale has an extra point on it that they all forget... the ZERO point. A scale that goes from 0 to 10 has 11 points if you count the zero.

Are there any pellet receipes that actually create pellets that have zero output on the tester machine in the silo and if so, what is the effect?


You can't start baking before you set all the sliders in the four machines to a value other than 0...


Please reread the question... Output reading on the tester in the silo, not the oven settings. Can you make a pellet that does not register anything on the tester?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:17 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:13 pm
Posts: 3426
Location: Lost in the void
goofy wrote:
silly question, but why do we get 5 pellets when we have only 4 ovens?

Why do any given oven effect the others. Basicly if I set one oven one way and another way. why would either effect the other?

If they do thats rather stupid. Whats the point of having 4 ovens if all you have to do is set one? One oven could be built to cook as many pellets as you needed.

just seems rather silly and a waste.

There are some wrong assumptions there.

The ovens do not cook the pellets. They cook the recipe. The recipe is a mix based on the individual oven settings.

Yes, some ovens contribute more to the mix than others. But to make this even more complicated one oven has either a very powerful contribution or none at all, depending on its settings.

The machine in the pellet room produces the pellets from the recipe. That is why the number of pellets is not related to the number of ovens.

_________________
D'Lanor (ɹǝʇunч puǝƃǝן uɐqɹn)
Image
KI# 33949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Types of pellets
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 1023
Location: Maryland, USA
IngisKahn wrote:

That's it, the effect corresponds the 10 levels displayed on the meter.
1 - Steam & Bubbles HIGH
2 - Steam & Bubbles MED
3 - Steam & Bubbles LOW or Floater (if the pellet is close to borderline)


This tickled my strangeness nerve. Does this really go HIGH to LOW and then floaters or did you accidently get it backwards? (All the other types went LOW to HIGH.)

(Then, again, maybe it does make sense. The pellets would have to settle down and just dissolve instead of reacting violently. If they are stable enough to not react but not good enough to dissolve and provide any nutrition for the hungry algae, then they would just be a floater. Anyway, just wanted to verify if this is the case or not.)


Last edited by johnsojc on Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 6:51 am
Posts: 325
has anyone else beside me noted the number of different positions that the slider can be in? I got 250 different position for each slider. It will move to five "tics" from line to line. and if you think about it, just for the sliders, you can have 59,604,644,775,390,625,000,000,000,000 different cooking combinations if each slider is set different (not counting the 2 spots for zero)! that's not even taking into consideration the number of combinations from trying each recipe with the water filled/not filled and turbines rotating! :shock:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:45 pm
Posts: 2553
Mister Cloak wrote:
has anyone else beside me noted the number of different positions that the slider can be in? I got 250 different position for each slider. It will move to five "tics" from line to line. and if you think about it, just for the sliders, you can have 59,604,644,775,390,625,000,000,000,000 different cooking combinations if each slider is set different (not counting the 2 spots for zero)! that's not even taking into consideration the number of combinations from trying each recipe with the water filled/not filled and turbines rotating! :shock:


Five "tics" from which line? Are you talking about each solid black line?

You forget that it seems most recipes have a tolerance of +/- 1 or 2... I would say you can safely say that each solid black line is effectively 5 units, which would put the number of combinations at "only" 244,140,625,000,000,000,000

And I believe someone tested the filled/not filled stuff and found that it doesn't affect anything.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:57 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:52 pm
Posts: 212
Location: West Virginia
Herohtar wrote:
Mister Cloak wrote:
has anyone else beside me noted the number of different positions that the slider can be in? I got 250 different position for each slider. It will move to five "tics" from line to line. and if you think about it, just for the sliders, you can have 59,604,644,775,390,625,000,000,000,000 different cooking combinations if each slider is set different (not counting the 2 spots for zero)! that's not even taking into consideration the number of combinations from trying each recipe with the water filled/not filled and turbines rotating! :shock:


Five "tics" from which line? Are you talking about each solid black line?

You forget that it seems most recipes have a tolerance of +/- 1 or 2... I would say you can safely say that each solid black line is effectively 5 units, which would put the number of combinations at "only" 244,140,625,000,000,000,000

And I believe someone tested the filled/not filled stuff and found that it doesn't affect anything.



I better get started if I'm gonna test them all. :wink:

_________________
____________

KI# 02465190


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 1023
Location: Maryland, USA
Mister Cloak wrote:
has anyone else beside me noted the number of different positions that the slider can be in? I got 250 different position for each slider. It will move to five "tics" from line to line. and if you think about it, just for the sliders, you can have 59,604,644,775,390,625,000,000,000,000 different cooking combinations if each slider is set different (not counting the 2 spots for zero)! that's not even taking into consideration the number of combinations from trying each recipe with the water filled/not filled and turbines rotating! :shock:

Actually no. The control interface might have enough play in it to allow you to get 5 ticks per line but the detents are only .5. When you go back after the batch is done you will find your settings are either on a line or halfway between lines. I've seen the needle jump to a detent when going back to reset for a new formula.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 10:57 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States of America
I'm sure there are only 10 meter states.

There are 101 ticks on each slider (really 100 since you can't cook with 0).

Each slider has a different artificial maximum value so on average there's really only 80 positions.

The only variables affecting the recipe are the sliders.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:21 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 2:11 pm
Posts: 260
Location: Germany
Rusty_Russell wrote:
tachzusamm, would you please be explicit about which oven I need to set, if not top left in my post? Thanks.

I thought i was explicit enough, hm... but okay:
[spoiler]bottom left[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 4:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 6:11 pm
Posts: 403
Actually, I've found the sensitivity of the sliders to be more accurate than the black lines.

Test it out:

Set the second and third sliders to whatever you want. Set the time slider to the first black line. Cook it and record the time (should be 6 minutes).

Now, go back and drop time back to 0. Slide the control up until you hear an audible "click" sound and stop there - this should be a little more than halfway to the first black line. Cook and record - should be about 3:30.

_________________
-Tayrtahn
201092


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:33 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 12:55 pm
Posts: 9847
Location: Luton, UK
tachzusamm wrote:
Rusty_Russell wrote:
tachzusamm, would you please be explicit about which oven I need to set, if not top left in my post? Thanks.

I thought i was explicit enough, hm... but okay:
[spoiler]bottom left[/spoiler]
Thank you. I anticipated that but it didn't tally with directions elsewhere, so I wanted to check.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 6:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:45 pm
Posts: 620
Got a question, how are the bad pellets being tracked? I know for a fact they don't subtract any portion of your score but we've been told in various posts that not only are good pellets scores tracked but bad pellet drops are tracked too. How can players know though how successful or unsuccessful their efforts are if there isn't any indicators to show the extent of their efforts towards the bad side?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 8:14 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 5:33 pm
Posts: 438
Location: Netherlands, Hoofddorp
Quote:
Yes, some ovens contribute more to the mix than others. But to make this even more complicated one oven has either a very powerful contribution or none at all, depending on its settings.

The machine in the pellet room produces the pellets from the recipe. That is why the number of pellets is not related to the number of ovens.

Yep
That's why I run with all 4 mixers activated in the control room at the moment. Each oven should contribute as efficient as possible.
That is also what should be the full operational status according the plant schedule available in the control room.
I use the cloth to get back near the pellet pressure room.

I reported a bug that my 3 switchable mixers don't show any water althoug the control panel tells me they're completely activaded. Cyan confirmed the bug and has put it on the to be fixed list.

I also made the suggestion that the status of the 4 mixers on or of should have more influence on the pellet score. My impression is that that is not the case at the moment yet. The reply was that that might be a good idea! :idea:

However with this setting I'm running a steady 4 x (30, 30 30) production with scores per pellet in the range 960 .. 1000. :lol:
I only lost 2 pellets, so far due to neterrors that occurred during the link with a pellet selected to the test silo :evil:
But OK 112K+ is not to bad for a 1 week score :wink:

_________________
JanB MO:ULagain (Old) KI 00003068 JanB2 KI 00593052


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 438 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 ... 30  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: