It is currently Sun May 20, 2018 7:55 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 10:25 pm 
Obduction Backer

It is important to realize that age instances are not only referenced but also modified or created during the action of linking. So for a proper understanding of instancing the linking rules must be taken into account. This is not a lecture about the classic D'ni linking rules, but rather an OOC guide to the linking rules we are dealing with when we play MOUL. IC diehards should probably skip this.

Most of this data was collected during the years that I was an Until Uru shard administrator. Linking rules which did not exist in Until Uru are educated guesses on my part. These are marked with "(unconfirmed)".

This document is released to the public because I believe that with the upcoming guilds, in particular the Guild of Writers, information about linking rules should be common knowledge. If there is one thing that can make a mess of a Plasma vault it is wrong linking. And although rumors that it will kill the vault are vastly exaggerated, wrong linking will definately cause avatar corruption. Linking is an art, both IC and OOC.

Last edited by D'Lanor on Fri Sep 28, 2007 11:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 10:26 pm 
Obduction Backer

Instancing Explained Through Linking Rules - Version 1.6 (January 2, 2009)

• The Basic Link
    This is the most general linking rule. It is used for several linking objects which all have in common that no books are added to the Relto bookshelf and no pages are added to existing books. The basic link can be divided into two types:
    • Plain Basic Link
      Description: A plain basic link will create a new instance of an age. This new instance has no owner and it cannot be shared since the next person who uses the same linking object will be sent to the next new instance.