It is currently Fri Sep 18, 2020 5:28 pm

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: rope bridge in the city
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:52 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 11:51 am
Posts: 3
Location: the Netherlands
When you have a look through the telescope in Sharpers' office, you don't see the rope bridge there. :( When standing at the balcony, the one where you can see canyon alley(?), then you can see the rope bridge! :!:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:25 am
Posts: 2031
Location: Sadly in Germany
What you see through a telescope (most of them, anyhow) is typically merely a texture, i.e. a pre-rendered image. It's not a live reflection of what things really look like. If someone were to walk along the bridge, you would not be able to see them. Somewhat sad, actually.

In any case, this particular inconsistency is a bug. You should file it.

_________________
Sören Nils 'chucker' Kuklau

(Or something.)


Last edited by chucker on Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 9:17 am
Posts: 466
chucker wrote:
What you see through a telescope is typically merely a texture, i.e. a pre-rendered image. It's not a live reflection of what things really look like. If someone were to walk along the bridge, you would not be able to see them. Somewhat sad, actually.

In any case, this particular inconsistency is a bug. You should file it.
The Teledahn telescopes as well as one of the Telescopes in Ae'gura (I believe the Tokotah Rooftop one) both look like they're displaying a real time image. Has it ever been confirmed or denied if they are?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 975
Location: Ethereal Plane of Atrii
Has anyone noticed that Sharper's scope, unlike the hood scopes, doesn't actually magnify anything? You get the same view as when looking directly out the window.

_________________
Image
*SLMW 1.0* No animals were harmed in the production of this message.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:34 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 2:43 am
Posts: 315
I don't know about the Takotah rooftop scope now with instancing. I havent seen anyone standing at the barricades atop the stairway yet.
But I have seen people get in the buckets from the scope up above in the control room on Teledahn.

_________________
If it were done when 'tis done, then 'twere well. It were done quickly.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 2:19 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 6:18 pm
Posts: 353
Location: 127.0.0.1/0.0.0.0
D'Neile wrote:
I don't know about the Takotah rooftop scope now with instancing. I havent seen anyone standing at the barricades atop the stairway yet.
But I have seen people get in the buckets from the scope up above in the control room on Teledahn.

When you are on the tokotah rooftop, your are in a false city. So when you look through the scope, you see what's in the false city.

BrettM wrote:
Has anyone noticed that Sharper's scope, unlike the hood scopes, doesn't actually magnify anything? You get the same view as when looking directly out the window.

Magnifying a texture would not be a very good idea.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 2:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:24 pm
Posts: 3120
Location: Aachen, Germany
Hehe!

We had the same bug in Prologue and UU. Technically speaking the office is another age than the city with a different configuration file. AFAIK somebody has to change an option to enable the bridge in the office age.

_________________
Image
[KI again #01792364]| Uru images | KI guide


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 6:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 975
Location: Ethereal Plane of Atrii
realXCV wrote:
Magnifying a texture would not be a very good idea.

Of course not. But, providing a different texture to be used for the magnified view would be a good thing. Just like the texture of the Island you can see through the hood scope, but not while standing beside the scope.

_________________
Image
*SLMW 1.0* No animals were harmed in the production of this message.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 1:28 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 11:04 pm
Posts: 558
Location: Atlantis
it is not a bug it is a setting that can be turned on and off

it chould with UU that is so i am use live is the same way

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 1:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:07 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Nova, Va
If you do remember back in Prologue, if you looked through the hood scopes you could see tiny lights flickering and moving in the distance like people carrying lanterns or something similar.

_________________
Image
Proud member of The Meeting Place
"Somewhere, Something incredible is waiting to be known."
Visit My...Space


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: