It is currently Wed Nov 25, 2020 2:01 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:54 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:36 pm
Posts: 167
So, what, when we get a sparklie in an Age, one of those things pops out of a gopher hole? :lol: (At least, they look like they're underground-kinda-in the pic) Nice shot jetuser!

_________________
KI#00149165


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:34 pm
Posts: 1262
Location: Olympia, WA
I'm guessing this is a technical thing.

I'm just now learning Python, so i dont know a lot about it, but it reminds me of how you make a journal "readable" when Age building.

You have to put the objects in the age, even if they aren't "available" yet.

Its kind of hard to explain....its easier to add *all* of the sparklie torches at one time instead of adding them slowly one by one. the ones in the mist are turned "off", so you can't see them. But when you catch a sparklie it turns it "on", and it'll appear where it is supposed to.

You hide the turned off objects somewhere where they wont be seen (inside a wall, under the land mass, beneath the mist).

Does that make sense...? Sorry, probably not.... :?

~Kia

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:47 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 12:55 pm
Posts: 9852
Location: Luton, UK
It makes sense. For me each build has a set of environment variables, like a barricade, set to either on or off. They're switched as necessary - but they're all there in whatever default state as part of the build.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 4:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:24 pm
Posts: 3120
Location: Aachen, Germany
I don't know how the Uru client works but I guess it works like the following explanation:

Each object has a state, slots to receive signals and can send signals. I'm using a simple button as an example. A button has a state named enabled, a slot named setEnabled() and can send the signal pushed().

When the age is loaded all objects are getting an initial value. The button gets the state disabled=False. You have to solve another puzzle before you can use the button. When the puzzle is solved it sends a signal to the button: emitSignal(Button, setEnabled(), True). Now the button is pushable. When you push the button it sends the signal "pushed()". Another object can subscribe the signal: subscribe(Button, pushed()) so it is notified when the button is pushed.

In the case of some bugs like "Relto with all objects" something in the chain goes wrong. Maybe the initial state for all objects is visible and the server has to disable every object when you join an age. If you got disconnected or the server has hick ups some or all objects aren't disabled.

_________________
Image
[KI again #01792364]| Uru images | KI guide


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 3:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 6:29 am
Posts: 132
Two things

1) I once fell though the ground in Myst V and saw Esher standing at the bottom of the world box.

2) I once did a flymode of Teledahn in ABM and Shroomie was no where to be found (unless I completely missed her for some reason?).

FTLNewsFeed


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 3:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:34 pm
Posts: 1262
Location: Olympia, WA
1) Yup, theres all kinds of neat stuff to see in flymode ;)

2) Dunno why that would be

~Kia

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 3:48 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:13 pm
Posts: 3426
Location: Lost in the void
Shroomie is in fade out mode by default.

_________________
D'Lanor (ɹǝʇunч puǝƃǝן uɐqɹn)
Image
KI# 33949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:52 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:52 pm
Posts: 521
I have managed to take a picture of Relto with all the sparks:

[spoiler]Image[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 6:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 3:03 am
Posts: 783
Interesting that in the all-the-sparks glitch, the white line that is drawn down the central spiral still hasn't extended all the way.

Right now, I'm conviced that the story-important aspect is that white line. The sparkle-lanterns are just pretty gravy. (And yes, if you only get the second spark, the line does draw all the way there - so it doesn't matter that you don't have the first lantern, in terms of that line.)

_________________
I still love my umbrella! :D

Sosiqui in Cavern


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 8:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 2:28 am
Posts: 297
Location: New Zealand
The line doesn't move at all. Even if you haven't gotten any sparklies yet it looks like that.

_________________
Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 6:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:34 pm
Posts: 1262
Location: Olympia, WA
*nod* Its probably just part of the object texture

~Kia

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 10:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:45 pm
Posts: 2553
Nice find!

What I don't understand is why they don't just make them completely invisible rather than just sticking them down in the mist; it's definitely possible, and it sure isn't "realistic" to see them floating down there! lol


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 11:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:34 pm
Posts: 1262
Location: Olympia, WA
You can't really just make an item invisible. Not that I know of anyway.

Best and only solution is to hide it.

~Kia

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 11:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:45 pm
Posts: 2553
It is definitely possible to make things invisible, but perhaps not with their current coding structure.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:39 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:13 pm
Posts: 3426
Location: Lost in the void
Object visibility and collision can be turned on and off in Uru. However, it has to be set up that way.
The whole thing was probably modeled in one session but the routine to hide the remaining objects is still missing. So the easy way would be to shove those objects out of sight somewhere.

_________________
D'Lanor (ɹǝʇunч puǝƃǝן uɐqɹn)
Image
KI# 33949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: