It is currently Fri Nov 27, 2020 12:46 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 8:44 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 661
Yep, I get this too. ATI Radeon 9000 Pro with graphics maxed (except for anti-aliasing).

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 2:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 11:36 pm
Posts: 47
Just double-checked to be sure - I have beautiful lightning - no panels - in my Relto, with an Nvidia 8800 and settings maxed.

Papabear


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 4:00 am
Posts: 347
We've got three systems about that I can test this on. One with lousy ATI, one with eh ATI, and one with excellent Nvidia. I'll see if I can't test it on all these tomorrow.

For now, I must sleep. :wink:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 4:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:31 pm
Posts: 100
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
If I fiddle just right I can get it too. I have a Raedon Express 200M card.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 5:34 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:36 am
Posts: 1477
For anyone who wants to reproduce this bug, just watch my video.

greypiffle wrote:
ftp://kodama:[email protected]/Greypiffle_Fogg/StormFrames.wmv

_________________
Greypiffle Fogg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 5:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 4:00 am
Posts: 347
Okay, I've tested this on one of the machines and noticed that this doesn't work if you have the rain page on.

I could see it just fine when I had the rain page off, but turning on the page causes them not to show up. I suppose the rain acts like the birds flying across the area. I mentioned this in my ticket.

Viewed on an ATI Mobility 7500 with 16mb of vram. Everything set at it's lowest.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 9:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 11:22 pm
Posts: 510
Cubkyle wrote:
Okay, I've tested this on one of the machines and noticed that this doesn't work if you have the rain page on.

I could see it just fine when I had the rain page off, but turning on the page causes them not to show up. I suppose the rain acts like the birds flying across the area. I mentioned this in my ticket.

Viewed on an ATI Mobility 7500 with 16mb of vram. Everything set at it's lowest.


Ah, I didn't try it with my rain turned off...

*/me runs off to check his Relto*

...Yup. I can reproduce the bug now, too. Thanks for pointing that out, Cub. :)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 3:12 pm
Posts: 2190
Location: Houston
Looks like it's part Alpha texture issue, part something else.


And the hunt goes on. :D

_________________
Waymet


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 6:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 11:36 pm
Posts: 47
Have finally been able to reproduce the lightning 'panes' on my system, but only very intermittently, under the following conditions:

graphics settings turned way down

while moving or looking around

only two other pages turned on

Was working on trying with different pages, but got dumped with neterr and can't get back on.

Papabear


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 6:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:45 pm
Posts: 2553
I finally got a response to my ticket on this issue, and sure enough, "I still can't reproduce this" and "Maybe it's an Nvidia issue". I responded with a link to this thread and mentioned the more recent discovery that the rain page had to be off. In a few minutes I got this reply:

Quote:
*blink* Rain page... off? *runs and tries it*

Caleb, you ROCK. That's everything I needed to know! ^_^ You can report back 'mission successful' on the Rehearsal forums!

Thank everyone for me!

---
Aaron "Monarch" Biegalski
Bugman and Resident Ninja Master
Uru Live Support Team


So... Mission Successful! Good work everyone! :D

_________________
Nothing to see here, move along.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 2:39 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 3:17 am
Posts: 2848
Location: Hilo, I wish...
/me applauds

I'm getting the impression that they (Cyan) don't have time to actually solve all these bugs, so if we can do the detective work for them, as well as find the bugs, we have a much better chance of getting fixes.

Unfortunately, few of us have the technical expertise to figure out much from the files, but we can do these kinds of experiments and try to narrow down the circumstances under which the bugs appear. Bravo, Herohtar!

_________________
Explorer at large

:)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 3:12 pm
Posts: 2190
Location: Houston
Ach!!!!!!!!! :lol:

No Rain page for that Avie it hasn't finished the prime journey yet.

/me cheers for Herohtar
/me cheers for Herohtar
/me cheers for Herohtar

_________________
Waymet


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 9:41 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:54 pm
Posts: 1182
I was just wondering about this panel problem....have any of you noticed that some of the sparklies have the same problem? Watch the sparkle as it moves around and you can see a small square panel around it. It's as if it (as well as the lightning) isn't "clipped" right.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 9:50 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 4:48 am
Posts: 935
Location: Northern Colorado
Yes, this was definitely noticeable both in Er'cana (it clipped the bush behind it, if you were standing in the right place), and Jalak (it clipped the trees in the background).

I've also seen it with firemarbles (both in Kirel and Relto).

_________________
Ki #782729
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:10 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:54 pm
Posts: 1182
Tofer wrote:
Yes, this was definitely noticeable both in Er'cana (it clipped the bush behind it, if you were standing in the right place), and Jalak (it clipped the trees in the background).

I've also seen it with firemarbles (both in Kirel and Relto).
Yes, I noticed those. Hopefully the fix for the thunder can be applied to the sparklies and marbles, too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: