It is currently Fri Nov 27, 2020 12:45 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 12:24 am
Posts: 22
Location: Virginia Beach,VA
Hello...

Recently, my laptop died. As a matter of fact, it died while unloading URU from my memory, I think I had a memory failure, or something. That's not why I'm posting, though. I'm posting because I've had to move to my desktop, which I am getting a serious problem on. I'm not sure if it's the computer, or if it's not on my side, but if anyone knows, I'd appreciate some help.

Every time I try to log into the standalone, I get the "Account not found" message, and I'm more than sure that my username is correct, as well as my password, because it works fine with the gametap general login on the gametap client, which I tried. Buuuut....when I tried to play URU through the gametap client, i got a message saying simply "Denied".

Any ideas?

My account worked fine on my laptop, but after it died, and I moved to my desktop it can't seem to find my account. Could any of this be related to the death of my laptop? Honestly, I have no idea how this type of thing works, on a technical level, but in my mind, the system died while unloading URU from memory (brand new system, too), and that may be a cause of the account issue. I submitted a ticket last week, and haven't got a reply back....so if anyone has any advice, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:14 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:13 pm
Posts: 3426
Location: Lost in the void
You picked a rather bad time to try this because the auth server is currently down for an update.

At this time everyone is getting a Login denied message. Account not found however means that you are using a wrong username.

_________________
D'Lanor (ɹǝʇunч puǝƃǝן uɐqɹn)
Image
KI# 33949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 12:24 am
Posts: 22
Location: Virginia Beach,VA
Well, I've had the problem for about a week now.

As far as my username goes......I'm sure it is correct, because I can use it everywhere else on gametap, including this forum and the support site.

...Not to mention it's my 'universal' username...I use it everywhere.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:29 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:13 pm
Posts: 3426
Location: Lost in the void
I happen to work in support and I know from experience that 95% of the people who are 100% sure that they are using the correct username and password are in fact not. Now you could be in the other 5% but the message "account not found" seems to disprove that.

That being said, I have no experience with logging in from gametap as I am playing from outside US or Canada. From what I read the Gametap client seems to do some sort of autofill, which may go wrong.

Edit: Login is enabled again. You can resume your attempts.

_________________
D'Lanor (ɹǝʇunч puǝƃǝן uɐqɹn)
Image
KI# 33949


Last edited by D'Lanor on Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 12:24 am
Posts: 22
Location: Virginia Beach,VA
Is there a way for me to verify that I'm using the correct account name?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:06 am
Posts: 526
Location: California, USA
thethunder wrote:
Every time I try to log into the standalone, I get the "Account not found" message, and I'm more than sure that my username is correct, as well as my password, because it works fine with the gametap general login on the gametap client, which I tried. Buuuut....when I tried to play URU through the gametap client, i got a message saying simply "Denied".


1) Those who have Gametap accounts have been requested by Support not to use the standalone anymore, as of a couple weeks ago, so you might want to remove that shortcut. It takes you to the same place in the end anyhow.

2) Your username for the Gametap client is your Gametap username; your username for the standalone client is your email address. This is why you would get "Account not found".

3) There is an update today, the "Denied" message should go away when the server comes back up.

_________________
Image
KI # not assigned yet


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:35 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 12:55 pm
Posts: 9852
Location: Luton, UK
The server is available again now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:38 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:13 pm
Posts: 3426
Location: Lost in the void
The autofill I mentioned puts @gametap.com after your account name. You may want to try adding that.

_________________
D'Lanor (ɹǝʇunч puǝƃǝן uɐqɹn)
Image
KI# 33949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 12:24 am
Posts: 22
Location: Virginia Beach,VA
Quote:
2) Your username for the Gametap client is your Gametap username; your username for the standalone client is your email address. This is why you would get "Account not found".

3) There is an update today, the "Denied" message should go away when the server comes back up.


well, I tried my email in the standalone, and it still said "Account not found"....But the gametap client seems to work.

At least it's working this way...Thanks for everyone's help!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:36 am
Posts: 79
Location: Tilcestune UK
Still cannot log in here!!!!!


from UK if you did not know know


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 12:24 am
Posts: 22
Location: Virginia Beach,VA
Are you getting the same message I was?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:36 am
Posts: 79
Location: Tilcestune UK
yes account not found


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 12:24 am
Posts: 22
Location: Virginia Beach,VA
If you're using the standalone, well, try through gametap. Gametap should log you in automatically, I think they're phazing out the standalone.

Are you sure you have the right username? Maybe contact cyan or gametap to verify.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:36 am
Posts: 79
Location: Tilcestune UK
we cannot use gametap here in the UK has to be the standalone one


I am testing a theory at this time


I have just installed vista 64 bit and taht coinsided with them taking down the server !!! as i had not activated it, I have returned to the RTM copy 32 bit to test I will post the results later

Could be important as Vista is released 30 Jan ,but here in the UK you can buy a copy early :)

IF it is 64 bit then I will contact Cyan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 7:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:36 am
Posts: 79
Location: Tilcestune UK
Update tried with 32 bit vista and all was well then reinstalled vista 64 bit and was able to log on , must have beed ISP cache problems


Last edited by Lordedmond on Sun Jan 28, 2007 8:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: