It is currently Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:16 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 9:50 pm
Posts: 1363
Location: In Maple syrup country
Folks - I can see by the replies to this thread that what I thought was a bug was probably an error on my part. There is no reason to continue this thread. I'm asking a Mod. to either drop it or lock it. Apologies for the brohaha it caused. - Kero

After getting the sparkly in Gehreesen and the half donut in Delin (finally :roll: ) I decided to go for the fifteen green GZ markers so I too can say I've seen the Great Zero. :lol:

I link to the GZ observation room and stick my hand in the machine like the book says. I get 15 dull green lights on my KI. I then turn around and see my very first marker. Eagerly I click on it....and click on it.....and click on it......and nothing happens! :shock: I think - maybe I'm not close enough - so I move my avi right under it - still nothing happens. grrrrrr. It is a this point that I notice my little circular cursor does not have the dot in the middle that tells me when I am over a "clickable" hot spot. Ahaaaaaa. Bug reporting time. To confirm this "bug" I went to other locations in the city where I knew there would be markers (past experience with To D'ni and Prologue). All of the markers I found and tested were "dead" to my little cursor. So I zipped my logs and sent them along with the pictures I took to Live Support marked Urgent. This is the reply I got:
Quote:
This bug loves us here too :)
... Looks like the techs have got a fix for this coming soon.

Now I am fervantly praying that "coming soon" means before the official launch of Live. I can't believe I'm the only one experiencing this bug - and think of the negative publicity it could generate should a Game reviewer catch it!

I guess the whole point to this post is to see if others have caught this bug. I'm lonely. :cry: I want company!!!

_________________
All things come to those who wait.

Kero - KI#33425
Tarma - KI#36702


Last edited by Kero on Sat Feb 03, 2007 9:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 7:16 pm
Posts: 216
Are you clicking on the marker, or on the marker symbol on your KI?

In this version of the game, you need to click on the symbol on your KI.

_________________
Gregory Weir
Gregory - 00190725
http://ludusnovus.net


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:00 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 12:53 pm
Posts: 278
Location: Wisconsin, U.S. KI: 149434
I was able to gather markers by clicking on the blinking red target on my KI instead of the Marker itself. I thought this was just a behavior change between Uru:CC and Uru Live...

Now I am uncertain. Is this a bug or expected behavior?

_________________
Shandi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:24 pm
Posts: 3120
Location: Aachen, Germany
Two different markers are misbehaving for month, too. It's a common known issue. The markers are located near the Kadish gallery door and on the stairs to the Concert Hall.

_________________
Image
[KI again #01792364]| Uru images | KI guide


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 4:03 am
Posts: 168
Location: Louisville, KY
As Weirga said, and I shall expound upon that:

When you get close to a marker, the white flashing symbol on your KI turns red. Click the red flashing symbol. :)

_________________
Just keep walking and ignore the monkeys...
KI 00204262


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 9:50 pm
Posts: 1363
Location: In Maple syrup country
Weirga wrote:
Are you clicking on the marker, or on the marker symbol on your KI?

In this version of the game, you need to click on the symbol on your KI.

You know - I never even thought of doing this. In all the other iterations of URU I've had experience with, I've always clicked on the marker itself - not the symbol on my KI. hmmmm. Think I'll give it a try Weirga - you may have discovered a work-around for a bug that even the folks at Tech support are experiencing (re: the quote in my initial post). I'll let you all know if it works. 8)

Question for all you folks out there - how did you "get" your markers? Did you click directly on them or did you click on the pulsing marker symbol on your KI?

_________________
All things come to those who wait.

Kero - KI#33425
Tarma - KI#36702


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:22 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 12:55 pm
Posts: 9852
Location: Luton, UK
Prologue (and this) are a KI click. To D'ni was the marker itself.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:35 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 7:39 pm
Posts: 268
Location: Columbia South Carolina USA
For the first two sets of markers, green and red, you click on your KI on the flashing red spot on it. After the QZ is aligned and started, and the marker games are available, then you have to click on or run through the marker, itself. I once spent a good half an hour trying to reach a marker on the dock that was up in the air. Then somebody told me that in the first two sets, I was supposed to click on my KI when it flashed red. Have fun.

_________________
J'ena of the lost ones
KI 00600805


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 9:50 pm
Posts: 1363
Location: In Maple syrup country
All right folks - checked out Weirga's suggestion on a marker - and it worked! Now maybe I'm the one going daffy :roll: :lol: How-so-somever - if this is the way it is supposed to work why would the folks at Support tell me they have the same problem and a fix for it is in the works? :?

Rusty - I'm not trying to be stubborn about this - well....not too stubborn - but I always clicked directly on the first set (green) of markers to pick them up. I did this in Prologue, UU, and the stand-alones. Which is why it never even entered my head to just click on the KI. Oh well - I guess this old dog ain't to old to learn new tricks after all. :wink:

_________________
All things come to those who wait.

Kero - KI#33425
Tarma - KI#36702


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:51 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 12:55 pm
Posts: 9852
Location: Luton, UK
Kero, my reaction to you and Prologue and UU is "No you didn't". You have a weekend to check. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 10:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 9:50 pm
Posts: 1363
Location: In Maple syrup country
Now that is going to be a little hard to do. :lol: Prologue doesn't exist and I no longer have my connection to D'mala. I do remember clicking on the markers themselves to get them. I do not remember ever clicking on my KI. So let us agree to disagree until someone from Cyan comes along who can put this matter to rest.

And if it turns out that I am in fact the one loosing her marbles - well, apologies all around.

_________________
All things come to those who wait.

Kero - KI#33425
Tarma - KI#36702


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 10:15 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 12:55 pm
Posts: 9852
Location: Luton, UK
Oh. It's a pity that you don't still have your connection to D'mala. That would have been the quick check I had in mind. No Kagi key floating around?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 10:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:19 am
Posts: 1300
If you want a Kagi Key username/password, just PM me, okay? I'll be happy to share it with you, so you can test that out.

Yeah, for me, it's always been "click on the KI".

_________________
Uru will always live on in the hearts and minds of Explorers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 1:35 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 8:29 pm
Posts: 1284
Location: UK
Same here, have always clicked on the KI...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 1:56 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:48 pm
Posts: 755
Location: California
I remember always clicking on the Ki for the first 30 markers and then having to jump through the ones after that in the marker missions.

I don't ever remember having to click the marker itself. Jumping through them, yes, but not clicking them.

_________________
Image

Win 7 64bit-Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0GHz-4GB mem-EVGA GeForce GTX 260oc-Creative SB X-Fi Extreme Gamer - 15MB fiber optic conn


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: