It is currently Wed Mar 03, 2021 9:41 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 3:04 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 1:19 am
Posts: 20
I'm in a kind of a pickle now. I jumped at that anniversary offer from Gametap (still a great offer). Now I was playing using my satellite internet connection with Earthlink. Unfortunately, because of a billing dispute, it was disconnected. Now I'm on a dial-up connection and find that Gametap will not run at all for me. Now I love all the cool games I've played on GT, but Live was what I'm really wanting to use it for. Now, my question, which I hope a rep. fro Cyan or Gametap can answer, will there be any way for me, on dial-up, to play Live when it goes live?
I know Until Uru will be shut down in support of Live, so that leaves me without a Myst outlet!!

_________________
TonaRe on the D'Mala Shard - Until Uru


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 8:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:45 pm
Posts: 372
Nope. Uru Live is a broadband only. It was so back when it first was tried (broadband not as prevalent then aided in its demise). There is just too much info going back and forth for a slow 10k connection. And with voice support... there is just no way.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 1:53 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 12:11 am
Posts: 2633
Actually this isn't quite true, I beta tested uru with dial up before. You can play Uru Live with dial up but it really really isn't recommeneded (however I do recall hearing something about gametap not working with dialup not sure if thats true or not but it could be an issue)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 6:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 11:55 pm
Posts: 3933
Location: Not Canada
No, your only hope is if you're international and won't need GameTap. The GameTap client is specifically designed to shut you out if you don't have enough bandwidth. People have had technical problems using GameTap because it thought they were using dial-up, although the real problem was something more like a problem with the firewall or something.

_________________
For cowards die a thousand deaths, while heros die but one.

Well, unless they're playing video games, in which case heros die a lot too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 2:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:45 pm
Posts: 372
You could possible trick the gametap client if you had two computers. Dial into the internet with one and network them. Bridge the connection and use the second computer with a network card talk to the other computer's network card and the computer with the dial up connection could patch you through. That way the client sees you connecting with a broad band connection (the broad band connection only connects to another computer though)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 9:34 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 8:44 pm
Posts: 274
Location: Colorado, USA
BlueLightNight wrote:
You could possible trick the gametap client if you had two computers. Dial into the internet with one and network them. Bridge the connection and use the second computer with a network card talk to the other computer's network card and the computer with the dial up connection could patch you through. That way the client sees you connecting with a broad band connection (the broad band connection only connects to another computer though)


However, if Gametap is actually trying to measure bandwidth it may not be fooled. On the other hand, it may have trouble differentiating between a bad 256K DSL connection (i.e. one that has renegotiated down to a lower speed due to noise problems on the line) and a good 56K dialup. They may have to give the benefit of the doubt in order not to upset customers. Anyway, the suggestion above might work, and you could use a really old PC (i.e. something that most people would throw or give away) running Linux to be the dialup/ethernet gateway.

But, you seriously should consider other options if any others are available at all. The problem most likely won't be running Uru Live, since the Uru protocol bandwidth has not exceeded good dialup speeds (at least in the past, I can't speak for what the bandwidth of the new Uru Live will be). The problem will be in downloading the ages and other updates. It could take days, perhaps close to a week if you start from nothing (and currently Cyan has indicated that Uru Live will be pure download, just like all other Gametap offerings, so you almost certainly will be starting from nothing). If you are really committed you may be able to deal with this once you get the initial downloads complete. At the very least you should get a dedicated modem phone line, so you can let the downloads run all day. Otherwise you may have to start updating in the evening, and stop in the morning, restart the next evening, etc.

Perhaps there might be a way of downloading ages at another site and transferring them to your computer. This would have been possible with the previous version, but may not be possible with the new version.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 4:55 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 1:19 am
Posts: 20
Thanks for the replies guys.
BTW, Bluelight, I also beta tested on a dialup back during the original Uru Live beta testing. I've also been in the cavern several times since I've had to downgrade with very little noticable difference in performance.

I guess my only option is to wait the few months to a year it will take to get that DSL from around the corner down my street.

_________________
TonaRe on the D'Mala Shard - Until Uru


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:22 pm
Posts: 520
Location: relto
Thing is its a bandwith issue mostly. Theres plenty of MMO's out there that alow dialup and the people that use it have no major issues. With the exception of downloading patches or new content. Which slowly but surely is not being an issue with new patching systems.

I think blizard has an interesting one. Its kinda like bit torrent or is it exactly like it. Not sure, but it works well.

Sooner or later companys are going to relize that not everyone has access to broadband or can afford it.

good luck

_________________
We keep moving forward,
openning up new doors and doing new things,
Because we're curious... and curiosity keeps
leading us down new paths

Walt Disney

Keep moving forward


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 4:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 2:46 am
Posts: 24
I also have dial-up, my only hope it if they make a URU portable for my thumb drive, then I can play at our local library with it's wonderful broadband :P

Gaming4JC

_________________
I'm a URU Complete Chronicles Owner! :D
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 4:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:00 pm
Posts: 4095
@ Gaming4JC

Is it not possible to download the GameTap files to something like a 60 Gig USB device like they seem to be suggesting in this post ??

http://www.urulive.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=43298#43298


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 4:45 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 5:28 am
Posts: 2266
A small caveat here - broadband is required. Some of these things sound interesting, but we have no idea if they could work. It's also a lot of content, so I have my doubts about the content even fitting on a thumb drive.

I'm also curious about the proposed library solution. Maybe you aren't talking about a public library in the US. I have librarian friends and family members. In many public libraries, the PCs are set up so you can't install additional programs on their computers. They also don't generally have hi-end graphics cards, and in many libraries there is a limit on on long and how often you can sign on.

I don't want to be a downer here - I just want to be realistic. As far as I can tell, there is no work being done on the game to make it easier to play it on dial-up, since broadband is required.

Here are the requirements listed - got this from the support section of this site:
Supported OS: Windows XP/MCE in XP mode
Processor: 800MHz PentiumIII or AMD Athlon or better
RAM: 512 MB or more
Video Card 32 MB DirectX9.0 -compliant video card (see supported list*)
Sound Card: DirectX 9.0- compliant audio card
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c
Hard Drive Space: 3+ GB free
Internet Connection: Broadband
Display: 800 by 600 16 bit displays

_________________
mszv, amarez in Uru, other online games, never use mszv anymore, would like to change it
Blog - http://www.amarez.com, Twitter - http://www.twitter.com/amareze


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron