It is currently Thu Feb 21, 2019 11:51 pm

All times are UTC

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 

Is this a good idea?
Sorry, it doesn't work like that. 35%  35%  [ 7 ]
Great idea! 40%  40%  [ 8 ]
That's technically valid, but it wouldn't really help. 10%  10%  [ 2 ]
That would just make things worse. 10%  10%  [ 2 ]
Other (please specify). 5%  5%  [ 1 ]
Total votes : 20
PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2010 6:00 pm 
Obduction Backer

Disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer, but key points in my argument rest on assumptions about Cyan's legal situation, both in reality and in various hypothetical scenarios. If you know what you're talking about, please correct me where I'm wrong.

As we all know, there is currently no legal way for fans to create Ages for Uru. I think most of us would agree that this is a suboptimal state of affairs. Ideally, I think most of us, fans and Cyan both, would like:
  • for fans to be able to create Uru Ages,
  • legally,
  • without waiting for Open Source,
  • in a way that doesn't take Cyan's time or money away from Open Source.
This post is an attempt to propose a way that that might be achieved.

I assume that Cyan is not in the legal position to just say "okay sure, have fun, do whatever you want". However, I also assume that Cyan employees can safely create Uru Ages without issues. The only problem with that is that hiring employees costs money, and if Cyan is spending money we'd rather it go towards Open Source (or towards something like MQO or Hex Isle that will make Cyan more money).

So, what I propose is this: Cyan should hand out unpaid internships to people who want to create Ages for Uru, much like they currently grant FCALs. This makes the Age creator legally an employee of Cyan, without putting a drain on Cyan's financial resources.