It is currently Tue Oct 20, 2020 11:57 pm

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Relto problem
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 5:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 6:07 pm
Posts: 84
Location: US
anyone else having this, the relto book works fine to link with, but if for some reason I have to panic link, like marker quests off the edge, I always crash out and have to restart UU.

_________________
If you are not part of the solution, then you are a gas.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 5:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 9:57 pm
Posts: 140
Location: Massachusetts
Well, I've certainly crashed my fair share of times panic linking, but not every time. Considering Uru started making my other windows programs like Mozilla, start behaving very erratically, a restart did wonders.

Fireflies, on the other hand, are my personal death link omen. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 7:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 11:02 pm
Posts: 219
Location: Poole Dorset
I have that problem while doing the marker quests.
I had never crashed before when panic linking.
I've only noticed it sinse the update, is this the same for anyone else?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 10:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:34 am
Posts: 1040
Location: New Zealand
Try deleting the contents of the vnode_cache directory within your URU game folder.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 2:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 3:58 pm
Posts: 209
Location: newport, oregon
it's always done it once in a while for me, most often when using my book to link out of the city (panic or regular). however, many have commented that this behaviour is greatly increased since the update.

_________________
Image
tomahnokh k'hunah
house of k'huunah
d'mala 00723949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 2:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 6:07 pm
Posts: 84
Location: US
yea, it just started for me after the update as well. Relto by page is fine, but panic link just crashes. Clearing the vnode_cache didnt work either.

Edit I did get it fixed. I had all the ages being updated at login; when I turned that off, it updates the age as I log into it and no longer crashes when I panic.

_________________
If you are not part of the solution, then you are a gas.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 5:13 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 11:36 am
Posts: 441
Location: Still in Upstate New York USA AKA "The Boonies"
Naw, my death link is Teledahn. That's anywhere in Teledahn, doing anything in Teledahn, doing nothing in Teledahn. Eventually it's a stack dump everytime. I've deleted the book and redone it twice but it always turns brown.

_________________
Play nice Shorahmin, play nice...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 7:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 5:09 pm
Posts: 31
Location: St.Louis, Missouri
I have seen the same thing K'huunah . Since the update I have been crashing alot lately out of the City and it has been a long time since I have crashed and I have heard other people mention it since the update.

No worries LIVE is Coming!!!!!!!!!!! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 8:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 7:55 pm
Posts: 11
Which markers are you panic linking for? I don't recall any that I couldn't get close enough to just click the flashing icon on my KI. This includes the library and, the 'shop' district.

Also, I'm of no use to your original post.

_________________
-Daniel

+Played all the MYSTs
+Made a few of his own
+Lives on the East Coast


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 10:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 3:57 pm
Posts: 464
Location: Alabama, USA
It happened a lot to me, too. Also, after I finished a mission, it would say I never started it, for some reason. Eventually, after doing the same mission multiple times, it finally saved. And that's after I crashed out of the city and had the luck of finding my markers still there instead of forgotten again.

It is a very frustrating bug. :evil:

_________________
Look, it's a Bunny!

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 11:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 6:07 pm
Posts: 84
Location: US
Elbasunu I am talking about the marker quests to calibrate the GZ. The original 30 was fine, but the rest have marker where u have to jump off the cliff and aim and such.

_________________
If you are not part of the solution, then you are a gas.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 5:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 3:58 pm
Posts: 209
Location: newport, oregon
Sithly wrote:
I have seen the same thing K'huunah . Since the update I have been crashing alot lately out of the City and it has been a long time since I have crashed and I have heard other people mention it since the update.

No worries LIVE is Coming!!!!!!!!!!! :D


it's really inconsistent. the first 3-4 today i crashed... the next 20 or so, i didn't. strange.

_________________
Image
tomahnokh k'hunah
house of k'huunah
d'mala 00723949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 5:24 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:32 pm
Posts: 511
Location: Narayan
It varies for me too. Sometimes I'll go days without a CTD, then I'll get one every time I link.

I know it's frustrating when you're trying to do markers, though.

Hang in there. It'll get better again. :)

Annacat

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 6:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:34 am
Posts: 1040
Location: New Zealand
Roll-on the return of URU Live.
It sounds like Cyan have been working hard to reolve problems like these. :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SEMrush [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron