It is currently Tue Oct 20, 2020 11:22 pm

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:42 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 7:45 pm
Posts: 1410
Location: Wilmington, DE KI: 291428
morwyn, it's one of only three items in the zip file that is downloaded with the game. The other two are the executable and the Program Data folder.

Here is the content:

-------------------------
The Starry Expanse Project
Mysterium 2012 Prison Island Demo

This is Prison Island, running in the Unity engine, circa August 2012.
It is being released as the first public demo of the The Starry Expanse.
It is still definitely a work in progress, and therefore not necessarily
representative of the final product.

This is a DEMO, not a BETA TEST. To clarify: we are not seeking feedback
on this build of the game, we are simply sharing some of our work with
the public. Enjoy!


TO INSTALL:

Move Prison Island.exe and the Prison Island_Data folder to where you
would like them to live. We recommend somewhere in Program Files, but
the demo will function fine as long as the Prison Island.exe file is
in the same folder as Prison Island_Data.


HOTKEYS:

Z | decrease the speed of time
X | increase the speed of time
C | party mode
V | reset the speed of time to 1.0
N | decrease wind speed
M | increase wind speed
- | decrease cloudiness
= | increase cloudiness

/ | show or hide the info dialogue

esc | quit

----------------------

Dadguy

_________________
Member of the Guild of Greeters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 5:52 pm
Posts: 135
Location: Silicon Valley
ahh, my zip file did not include the README (but I saw a .txt link appear on the game site's blog, i think). A post above mentioned the ability to change environment variables, which was confusing to me. I kept trying to click on the panel inside the dome, but nothing happened. It makes so much more sense now, seeing the commands on the hot key list. Thank you!

_________________
00292608 on MOULa 00310046
00018203 on Minkata
00040424 on Gehn


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:35 am 
Offline
Cyan Employee

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 5:21 pm
Posts: 886
I was impressed with The Starry Expanse Project at Mysterium, and am always amazed at the fans innate ability to pick things up and do it themselves. Great job everyone.

Ryan Warzecha

_________________
Ryan Warzecha (greydragon)
Obduction Project Manager


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:45 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 3:43 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Homeworld
What is the deal with "Windows" and "Windows 64-bit"? I don't know which is supposed to be better, I don't know what 64-bit means!?!?

_________________
[ID:00052872]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:11 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:41 pm
Posts: 1715
Location: South Georgia
I would post the obligatory let me google that for you link, but I don't care for the top google results on the subject.

Windows 64-bit is a version of Windows that runs natively on 64-bit processors,which has been the standard for the last several years (ten years ago, 32-bit was the standard). Simply stating "Windows" usually means 32-bit. The difference between the two (at a glance) is that 64-bit Windows can use over 2gb RAM in a single process and is slightly faster than 32-bit Windows (due to various improvements in the CPU).

Programs that are "64-bit" will only run on 64-bit versions of Windows whereas 32-bit versions will run on both 32-bit and 64-bit Windows (but not Windows RT). In general, if you have a 64-bit version of Windows, you should prefer 64-bit programs.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:26 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 3:43 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Homeworld
AdamJohnso wrote:
In general, if you have a 64-bit version of Windows, you should prefer 64-bit programs.

Okay, Thank you!

I played the demo and it is amazing looking! But I did notice a glitch!

[spoiler]You can send the elevator up without even being in it and everything on the outside vanishes! You can do this by pulling the handle while standing just outside the elevator's circular floor.

Picture of glitch:
[spoiler]Image[/spoiler][/spoiler]

_________________
[ID:00052872]


Last edited by Ehren on Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:26 pm
Posts: 2501
Location: Ontario, Canada
Regarding the glitch.
[spoiler]
Hmm... just tried this, you can't get in the elevator shaft ether(after the elevator is gone). Good find.
[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:56 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 3:43 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Homeworld
I feel like a skydiver but in Riven instead of Uru...

More about this glitch:
[spoiler]If you start the elevator while just barely standing on its edge and move around a little bit while it's going up you can sometimes get pushed up onto the roof of the elevator, so once you reach the top you are going through the ceiling of the prison room. You can carefully move along the edge of the top of the elevator to avoid getting stuck in the center.

The prison room from on top of elevator:
[spoiler]Image
Image[/spoiler][/spoiler]

_________________
[ID:00052872]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:26 pm
Posts: 2501
Location: Ontario, Canada
A few more:
[spoiler]
1. If you get out of the elevator at the wrong time you will fall through the level.
2. If you are standing on the edge of the elevator and turn around, you will end up standing on the plate behind the elevator at the top of the room. If you jump off you will fall through the floor.
[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: