It is currently Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:09 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 89 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2014 11:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:00 pm
Posts: 4095
.
Hi Chahura,

According to Logitech at botton of page,
http://logitech-en-amr.custhelp.com/app ... NraHNQbA==

"If" your headset was purchase before the release of Windows 8 they say it is not supported but I beleive there is a possibility that it could connected. The sound card settings would be very important. (See the quote below)

I had a look at the similar model H-130 and found some connecting advices in the PDF manual that might help you a bit...
Quote:
Windows Vista and Windows 7: Go to Start/Control Panel/Sounds/Playback Devices tab.
Choose your sound card and click OK. Go to the Recording devices tab, choose your sound card, and click
OK. Restart the media application.


XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Found this next thread on Windows 8 forums...

The fix might be in the post # 2:
http://windows8search.com/forum/issues- ... -4123.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:57 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 3:19 am
Posts: 288
Location: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
If the headset is using the typical speaker/microphone jacks, rather a USB connection, it's unlikely to be the headset that's the problem, but rather the sound system on the motherboard.

One thing I've noticed on my current desktop system with an ASUS P5N-E SLI motherboard is that if I have the microphone switched OFF or unplugged, it often switches OFF that input for the Mic, and I have to go back into the control panel to turn it ON again... What a pain! :evil:

So if you switch between the front and rear ports, check the audio input and output settings. This may help, but more importantly, make sure the various motherboard (Or sound card) drivers are updated for the newer Windows version... Don't expect the Windows installer to get it right, as it will usually just use "generic" drivers and settings.

_________________
"What are we going to do today, Borg?"
"Same thing we always do, Pinkutus:
Try to assimilate the world!"
-Pinkutus & the Borg


Ad astra
Aut viam inveniam aut faciam


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 7:57 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:41 pm
Posts: 1703
Location: South Georgia
We're cutting it off tomorrow.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 9:49 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 4:14 pm
Posts: 1762
Cutting off what exactly...support for the shard in-game for XP?...or total access to the shard if you use XP?

_________________
Moul(A)II Charura KI#296707 Char Gearz KI#600002 Teri Dactyl KI#600568 Chickopee KI#601018 Cannon Belle KI#601422

_____________________________
How Many Times Does A Myst Player Play Myst Before A Myst Player Decides To Play Myst Again


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 11:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:26 pm
Posts: 2471
Location: Ontario, Canada
I believe first support and then soon the gehn shard will use libraries that will make it only run on Vista and newer. AFIK Cyan will continue to support XP at least for now.

_________________
-------------------
-Jamie Marchant
If I don't respond it's because email notification is down again and
I forgot to return to the thread.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 12:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 1023
Location: Maryland, USA
Time to bite the bullet and finally get the last updates for XP.

The XPocalypse has arrived :lol: !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2014 9:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 6:11 pm
Posts: 1969
Location: Land of Confusion
By by XP you where the best OS I ever knew, I can only hope your predecessors can live up to your reputation.

Now what we need is some one who can create a patch for Max 7 so that they work they work just as good on Win 7 as they did on XP unless I screwed something up on instal

On a side note, if any one remembers Amber Journeys Beyond, one of the old classics for Win 95
I guess the game was so popular they wrote a patch for it so it works on XP or Vista.

http://www.squirtthecat.com/games/amber/index.html

_________________
When You have eliminated all other possibilities What ever is left must be the solution

E=mc2
Energy = Milk x Coffee Squared


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 1:01 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:07 pm
Posts: 1279
Location: Central Europe
As a future reminder, Vista will be supported until 4/11/2017, Win 7 until 1/14/2020 and Win 8 until 1/10/2023.

_________________
KI #46116. Donate to help the Cavern stay open!
Want to know what’s going on in the Cavern? Visit the GoMe site.

MacOS wrappers, D’ni Lessons, DniTools, goodies.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 8:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 6:11 pm
Posts: 1969
Location: Land of Confusion
You could always keep an air gap between your XP computer and the internet. its only vulnerable if its on the net. Have all your old games on the XP computer and keep it off the net and have a New OS for the internet :mrgreen:

_________________
When You have eliminated all other possibilities What ever is left must be the solution

E=mc2
Energy = Milk x Coffee Squared


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 9:57 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:04 pm
Posts: 516
Location: A long time ago, in a galaxy far far away.
This is precisely what I've done. Though I'll probably reconnect it for a few hours to download a few things sometime.

_________________
Aka KathTheDragon (literally everywhere else on the internet)
Moula KI: 00005310
DI KI: 00205116
tumblr: kaththedragon


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 12:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:00 pm
Posts: 4095
@ Karkadann & KathAveara

re: Windows XP security bug
Have you seen my previous post for a special fix by Microsoft :?:
viewtopic.php?p=407785#p407785


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 3:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 6:11 pm
Posts: 1969
Location: Land of Confusion
Don't use IE and using a OS that is no longer being updated makes me a bit uneasy.
However using XP offlline should be safe. You cant sent a Trojan Horse over an air gap :mrgreen:

_________________
When You have eliminated all other possibilities What ever is left must be the solution

E=mc2
Energy = Milk x Coffee Squared


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 7:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 9:58 pm
Posts: 363
Location: GMT +1
Karkadann wrote:
However using XP offlline should be safe. You cant sent a Trojan Horse over an air gap :mrgreen:

Don't underestimate the power of USB drives... or floppy disks for that matter :P

_________________
MOULa2.dgelessus=32253


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 7:15 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 2:14 pm
Posts: 808
Karkadann wrote:
Don't use IE and using a OS that is no longer being updated makes me a bit uneasy.
However using XP offlline should be safe. You cant sent a Trojan Horse over an air gap :mrgreen:

Actually... http://arstechnica.com/security/2013/12/scientist-developed-malware-covertly-jumps-air-gaps-using-inaudible-sound/

_________________
Lyrositor


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 11:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 12:36 am
Posts: 317
Location: Outer Space
That tech works so far only if your offline system is infected already. And that bios virus has never been verified.
Besides, what do you want to spy from an offline computer? There is no online traffic to track. You can't hope to find banking data on it. Nor is it likely that you can find passwords for online shopping.

_________________
Equal amongst others in the Guild of Sleepers


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 89 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: