It is currently Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:58 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Multiple copies of Riven
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 7:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 5:53 pm
Posts: 2
I have two five-disk sets of Riven, each of which has either a missing disk or a file that will not copy. Is it possible for me to put together one working set of disks so that I can install Riven and play it via ScummVM on my OSX Mac desktop? Or, said another way, is each copy of Riven constructed in such a way that the only way to successfully play the game is with the original set of five disks because of the way the disks are coded to each other? Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 7:50 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:06 am
Posts: 620
Location: UK: Now with added Magic
As far as I know the disks are not coded to each other, and provided the same disk is not damaged in both sets you should be able to make a working set. Lets face it, the standard workaround for making the game disk-free includes copying the data from each disk to your hard drive and editing the installation file to point to the hard disk copies, so I know the physical presence of the disks is not required.

_________________
KI numbers:
11981 AlanD
12305 AlanDJ


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 8:08 pm 
Offline
Former MystOnline Moderator

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:05 pm
Posts: 4191
Location: 56°2'26", -3°20'28"
I agree with AlanD. It's a fairly expensive process to make disks with unique keying and not very mass manufacturing friendly.

_________________
Image Mac - MOULagain KI#00004826 00004289
In the interests of the environment, this post has been constructed entirely from recycled electrons.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 8:56 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 7:13 pm
Posts: 1057
This really belongs in the Cyan forums but I can only move this topic within this forum - so Off Topic is the closest category.


As far as the subject: Exactly what AlanD said.


Thanks,
Chogon


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2015 12:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:26 pm
Posts: 2455
Location: Ontario, Canada
ScummVM does not care about where the data comes from just that it's all in one place(hard drive or DVD). You will need to compile a 'experimental' build with Riven support built-in to play it.

_________________
-------------------
-Jamie Marchant
If I don't respond it's because email notification is down again and
I forgot to return to the thread.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2015 12:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 5:53 pm
Posts: 2
Chogun:

Apologies for posting in the wrong forum. I have no idea what combination of idiocy and ineptitude put me here. (Wrong linking book?)

Anyway, I got my answer. Thanks guys.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2015 6:07 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:07 pm
Posts: 1245
Location: Central Europe
Here is a discussion about running Riven under ScummVM, under the appropriate forum ;)

_________________
KI #46116. Donate to help the Cavern stay open!
Want to know what’s going on in the Cavern? Visit the GoMe site.

MacOS wrappers, D’ni Lessons, DniTools, goodies.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 7:49 pm
Posts: 270
Location: Massachusetts
Riven is available from Steam and GreatOldGames.com it retails for about 9 or 10 bucks and installs within a minute. Done! No need for discs! For what it's worth I had that 5 disc set and am
Missing one as well! :P

_________________
MOUL KI# 715496

MOULa-Current KI# 1895294


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 10:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:26 pm
Posts: 2455
Location: Ontario, Canada
Well depending on how fast you internet connection is it may take more then a minute. Also why buy a copy when you can use the one you have?

_________________
-------------------
-Jamie Marchant
If I don't respond it's because email notification is down again and
I forgot to return to the thread.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 12:12 pm 
Offline
Former MystOnline Moderator

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:05 pm
Posts: 4191
Location: 56°2'26", -3°20'28"
Well one possible reason is that by downloading one of the current versions (at relatively low cost) you can side-step many of the issues involved in trying to get an old version to run on a modern OS. But then again, I'm the kind of person that'll persevere with trying to get the old version going :wink:

_________________
Image Mac - MOULagain KI#00004826 00004289
In the interests of the environment, this post has been constructed entirely from recycled electrons.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 1:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:26 pm
Posts: 2455
Location: Ontario, Canada
Yeah and I work with old computers as a hobby so have no problems running older verstions. I also like to fiddle with emulators and such. Though you raise a good point for most people, paying for the game again is great and easy way to get it to work on a modern system. At that point you can keep the pyiscal copy as a collecters item or sell it on ebay since they are plenty of people who would like to collect old games whether they can run them or not.

_________________
-------------------
-Jamie Marchant
If I don't respond it's because email notification is down again and
I forgot to return to the thread.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SEMrush [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: