It is currently Sun Oct 20, 2019 2:24 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 12:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:45 pm
Posts: 372
I have a weird problem. It doesn't make any sense. Here is the deal.

This is inside the frame on another website. But this computer can't seem to pull it up. I have installed 3 different browsers, javaruntime, and flash. Nothing fixes it.

I can try this link on any other computer on my network and it works just fine. There are no firewalls or filtering. So what would block IE, Opera, and Mozilla from pulling up this page? I can also ping the address.

http://dewb.myspace.com/html.ng/site=my ... hoolpage=0

Oh, and when I view source this page on the computer that can see it, I just get the html code to show the picture, and thats it.

_________________
-
I do not often speak. But people listen hardest to things not often heard.
-

Jarun 00217662


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:29 pm
Posts: 89
That's pretty weird. What's the response when you try to load the page? What happens exactly?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 7:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 5:52 pm
Posts: 135
Location: Silicon Valley
Ja'run wrote:
This is inside the frame on another website.

Did you say that only your computer fails to display, or all computers? If all, then it may be that either the container site blocks external links, or the hosting site blocks embedding of its images on an external site. Many sites disable "hot linking" of their images from third-party locations because of the bandwidth drain.

Would you like to link us to the website with the frame that displays this problem?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 10:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:45 pm
Posts: 372
the website is www.myspace.com Its the frame above the login box. I wouldnt care, but all the media players are also on those subdomains so I can't see them either.

All other computers on my network can see it, just not mine. What is wierd is all three browsers I use cannot see it.

_________________
-
I do not often speak. But people listen hardest to things not often heard.
-

Jarun 00217662


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:04 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:54 pm
Posts: 1182
I went to the home page and tried that box you mentioned. It went to www.myspace.com/instyleyourlook. But that box changes on each visit.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 9:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:45 pm
Posts: 372
I know it changes. But I can't see it at all.

_________________
-
I do not often speak. But people listen hardest to things not often heard.
-

Jarun 00217662


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:29 pm
Posts: 89
Here, go to this page, put the address into the box, and click go. It will show you the response code and headers, and maybe if you post those we can figure it out.

Here's what I get -

Code:
response code - 200

Connection: close
Date: Mon, 09 Apr 2007 00:38:37 GMT
Server: Microsoft-IIS/6.0
Cache-Control: no-cache
Pragma: no-cache
X-Powered-By: ASP.NET
P3P: policyref="http://debr.myspace.com/w3c/p3p.xml", CP="CAO DSP COR CUR CON OUR STP UNI"
Set-Cookie: defcs=AqWnAAKcMRKkpwABnTES; domain=dewb.myspace.com; path=/
P3P: policyref="http://debr.myspace.com/w3c/p3p.xml", CP="CAO DSP COR CUR CON OUR STP UNI"
AdServer: ELS1FDRTAS36105:9678
Content-Type: text/html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 3:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:45 pm
Posts: 372
In firefox it does nothing. I tried the page in IE and I get an error. No matter what address I put into the field I get error on

Line:11
Char: 3
Error: 'netscape' is undefined

_________________
-
I do not often speak. But people listen hardest to things not often heard.
-

Jarun 00217662


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:29 pm
Posts: 89
That's right! I forgot about IE7. Ok, try now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:45 pm
Posts: 372
I get this to no matter what address I put into the field



response code - 404


Date: Mon, 09 Apr 2007 23:29:01 GMT
Server: Apache/2.0.54 (Unix) PHP/4.4.4 mod_ssl/2.0.54 OpenSSL/0.9.7e mod_fastcgi/2.4.2 DAV/2 SVN/1.3.2
Keep-Alive: timeout=15, max=100
Connection: Keep-Alive
Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1




body:

Not Found
The requested URL /homeport/www.myspace.com was not found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

_________________
-
I do not often speak. But people listen hardest to things not often heard.
-

Jarun 00217662


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 4:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:29 pm
Posts: 89
Ok, we're getting closer. :) Put in the full URL, including "http://".

Wouldn't it be nice if any of the major browsers came with a "view headers" or "view full response" button? But no.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 7:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:45 pm
Posts: 372
I get in the error box:

Line: 12
Char:
Error: Permission denied
Code:0
URL: http://homeportgloucester.org/ajaxresponse.html

I get that to everything I put in. With or without the http://

_________________
-
I do not often speak. But people listen hardest to things not often heard.
-

Jarun 00217662


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:29 pm
Posts: 89
Hmm. Well, apparently IE7 is just too "secure" to do something crazy and dangerous like navigate to a URL.

I guess if you want to see what's going on, you'll have to install a web developer plugin. There's this, for firefox -

http://livehttpheaders.mozdev.org/installation.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 5:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 9:16 pm
Posts: 367
Location: Montana
Ja'run wrote:
In firefox it does nothing.


I'd guess that you don't have the Java plug-in for Firefox. The errors you get in IE may indicate that you're still using Microsoft's old Java version instead of Sun's version. Microsoft lost the right to distribute 'current' versions of Java because they strayed too far from Sun's spec. and they got spanked for it. Firefox will not use Microsoft's old version of Java(default for XP) in anycase.

Note that upgrading your Java version will have no effect on loading the MySpace content.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:29 pm
Posts: 89
Huh? None of this has anything to do with Java.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron