It is currently Thu Nov 26, 2020 11:23 pm

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Voice Chat Testing.
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 10:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:52 pm
Posts: 162
Greeting All,

I have a special request for those of you who are interested. We are currently in need of some Voice Chat testing on Windows XP. If you have a microphone and headset, I implore you to run some of these tests over the weekend and write up tickets on all problems you are seeing. Remember to write "Voice Chat" in the Description of the Ticket. Logs, when possible, will also be helpful. Try to use Voice Chat in these situations with other players (but not limited to)

Communicate with each other in the same Realm (ie both players in Clan Courtyard, Portal Well)
While someone is casting on an object.
While someone is watching a video
While players are in different Realms (one player in Clan Courtyard, another in Twisted Wood)
Communicate while in the Avatar Customization

These are just some ideas of what to test when in Voice Chat. Don't let this be a high priority in your testing, but also continue to test other areas as well. You guys are doing awesome and it's a pleasure hearing what find during daily testing.


--V


Last edited by Varga on Fri Oct 02, 2009 10:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 11:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 1:20 am
Posts: 926
Location: Lone Star State, URU Texas
I tried voice several days ago and others in the domain said it came across clearly but no one was doing any activities at the time. I thought of trying it after thinking of how we did it in MOUL.

_________________
URU Dan
KI # 02132531
New KI 00347774


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 11:05 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 7:45 pm
Posts: 1410
Location: Wilmington, DE KI: 291428
Yeah, this will be a big one forr me! I have a Vista machine which has Realtek Hi Def sound. It works great with all of my applications and I can record sound with the microphone.

However, whenever I get into MQO, for some reason my "Microphone Level" in the Settings/Audio menu is always at 0 %. I move it up and it sticks while I am on that screen, but it is always back to zero when I leave and come back. Folks are unable to hear me.

A reminder to those whom may not know, voice chat happens when you click and hold the TAB key (just speak in the microphone, and others should hear you.

I ticketed my Audio problem, and they have been trying to find out why it is happening (mostly Vista, I heard). So I am anxious to help. :-)

Dadguy

_________________
Member of the Guild of Greeters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 11:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 1:20 am
Posts: 926
Location: Lone Star State, URU Texas
I have the XP and used the tab key.

_________________
URU Dan
KI # 02132531
New KI 00347774


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 11:15 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 5:21 pm
Posts: 2626
Location: Garland, TX - New 09/2014 KI # 60406 Moula
I have Vista, And have sucessfully voice chatted with 2 friends a few times, with no problems at all :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 11:19 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:18 am
Posts: 1420
Ooh, neat! As luck would have it, I borrowed my Blue "Snowball" USB microphone from work for the weekend. So I'll be more than happy to chat up a storm. I'm on Vista, but data is data...

Cheers, all,

MQOwog

_________________
MOUL KI: 174162

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:13 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 11:04 pm
Posts: 558
Location: Atlantis
Mystdee wrote:
I have Vista, And have sucessfully voice chatted with 2 friends a few times, with no problems at all :lol:


how i can not get mine to work with out it coming out speakers also in vista

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 2:27 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 5:21 pm
Posts: 2626
Location: Garland, TX - New 09/2014 KI # 60406 Moula
MercAngel wrote:
Mystdee wrote:
I have Vista, And have sucessfully voice chatted with 2 friends a few times, with no problems at all :lol:


how i can not get mine to work with out it coming out speakers also in vista



I used the tab key, I also used earphones tho I just use them automatically, for voice chat on any site. . .seems to help with echo and/or feedback problems


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 6:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 11:08 pm
Posts: 3847
Location: In the Cleft
OK V, wil ltest this as i have XP and headphones and a mike headset.

_________________
URU MOUL Lives
Admin
3D World and Game Developers Group Linkedin
"We Build Worlds"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 6:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 12:53 pm
Posts: 1451
Location: The Cleft of the Rock of Ages
I tested the voice chat for the first time in my life :D :D :D :D (had to overcome my bashfulness first). Worked fine, I was told. But is it normal that the Microphone level at the Audio Settings always turns to 0 (or to the left position) even though you can still use voice chat?

_________________
Ethan the Bahro Boy - MO:ULagain KI# 4988
---Blessed are those who laugh at themselves, for they shall never cease to be amused---
Image


Last edited by EthanEver on Sun Oct 04, 2009 6:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 11:30 pm
Posts: 1116
We'll be ready for testing after the 10th again, I'm afraid :oops:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Voice chatting
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:56 am
Posts: 57
Location: Lynn, IN
Everything was working fine for me also with voice chat. No problems with this issue.

_________________
Stephen C.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: