It is currently Sat Nov 28, 2020 9:03 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Text Chat
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 4:06 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:01 am
Posts: 63
Location: Orlando, Florida
Hi,

I was in the game tonight and someone was having problems using chat without typing shift-Y first. I went and looked the Key map under navigation controls and found something was mapped to start chat. In my case is was Y, so I tried to make it unmapped but could not figure out how. I finally mapped "Y" to something else and start chat went to unmapped. I used the technique to unmap all the keyboard motion keys A,S,W,D, because I never use those for navigation, I used Y for each one and the previous "Y function" changed to unmapped. At the last key, D for example, I made it "Page up" a key I never us in playing the game. Now my chat start on the first letter and everything is cool.

However, when you link out, the "Y" comes back to the start chat function. All the other mappings stick, but the start chat gets the Y again. (I already submitted a ticket on this). So you can "fix" your text chat, but you will need to remember to fix it again each time you link.

Hope this helps,

_________________
Have a tremendous day!

Golden Wedge
"Best, guarantees different"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 4:20 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:29 am
Posts: 412
Location: Pacific Nrthwst KI 75860
Yeah, for some reason yesterday, while testing together with Donahoo, everytime I would type something that started with 'w' I kept leaping forward a step and my chat would be missing the first letter! :lol: She figured it out that the mapping was causing that. After messing around with the mapping settings, we finally got everything set proper. I didn't notice the Y mapping, but I did turn off a bunch of them, except of course the arrow keys. I didn't have any problems today, during the stress test, so apparently I'm still good to go.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 4:44 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 7:45 pm
Posts: 1410
Location: Wilmington, DE KI: 291428
Just curious... how did you know to hit SHIFT-Y to initiate text chat?

I sat there like a mute while folks tried to chat with me and I couldn't type. I saw this post afterwards.

ALSO, they were able to VOICE-CHAT with me. I hit the TAB key and spoke but they could not hear. My mike is set up and can record on programs in Windows, but my microphone volume setting in "settings" (question mark lower right in the game) always goes back to ZERO after I try to slide it up to full volume. Anyone know why this is? What is the key to getting voice chat microphone setting up to stay up?

I am using Vista Home Premium.

Thanks, Dadguy :-)

_________________
Member of the Guild of Greeters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 1:28 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:18 am
Posts: 1420
Ah, so THAT'S why my text chats were losing the first letter or two. Good thread, I'll be following this one!

Mowog

_________________
MOUL KI: 174162

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:44 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:13 pm
Posts: 3426
Location: Lost in the void
Could it be that somebody edited their key mapping and the change was propagated to all people present in the realm?

Hmm, let me check if mine is still at the default values.

Edit: Yes, I had the default values (start chat unmapped) but when I pressed the "defaults" button it put a Y there! And it could not be removed. :x

The only way to get it back to unmapped would be hacking the ini file I guess...

_________________
D'Lanor (ɹǝʇunч puǝƃǝן uɐqɹn)
Image
KI# 33949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:07 am
Posts: 1591
Location: Virginia, USA
OMG, D'L, thanks for the tip. I almost did exactly as you did. I'm leaving mine as is, unmapped. But, man, that's a problem.

_________________
Exercise your vision.
3036026


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 6:33 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 5:21 pm
Posts: 2626
Location: Garland, TX - New 09/2014 KI # 60406 Moula
D'Lanor wrote:
Could it be that somebody edited their key mapping and the change was propagated to all people present in the realm?

Hmm, let me check if mine is still at the default values.

Edit: Yes, I had the default values (start chat unmapped) but when I pressed the "defaults" button it put a Y there! And it could not be removed. :x

The only way to get it back to unmapped would be hacking the ini file I guess...


This happened to me as well I can't seem to put it "back", but then I am not really sure what it is supposed to be as default anyway LOL :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 6:59 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:13 pm
Posts: 3426
Location: Lost in the void
Hmm, now where is that "unmapped" key? Must be close to the "any" key...

Bah, forget about that ini file. That was TPOTS. It seems MOUL moved the keymap configuration to an online chronicle.

_________________
D'Lanor (ɹǝʇunч puǝƃǝן uɐqɹn)
Image
KI# 33949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 7:31 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 1:24 am
Posts: 551
Location: Boston MA USA...... KI #11349
D'Lanor wrote:
Could it be that somebody edited their key mapping and the change was propagated to all people present in the realm?

Hmm, let me check if mine is still at the default values.

Edit: Yes, I had the default values (start chat unmapped) but when I pressed the "defaults" button it put a Y there! And it could not be removed. :x


A week or so before the stress test, I reported the bug that several keys were mapped to movements and you were unable to begin a chat with any of them. Support e-mailed me back that they were unaware of the bug and would have it fixed in the next build. Perhaps the newly mapped key is their fix?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 7:32 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:46 am
Posts: 196
Location: In a Little House on the Prairie
Woah. I thought my default was mapped. I changed all those lettered keys to unmapped while we were all in the Portal Well during the stress test. I thought it was odd they were mapped, but so many things are odd in beta . . .

_________________
"Excuse me, this is not the world I ordered. Please take it away and bring me a fresh one."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 7:40 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:48 pm
Posts: 755
Location: California
More weirdness. During and after the stress test, I was unable to see chat. I could type on the screen, but it would disappear and I wasn't able to see anyone else's or my chat.

I deleted the launchers and moved files then chat showed up. Hooray! I submitted a ticket and logs on both instances.

Now, today I was talking to Romer and Zam. Everything was fine until I had to log out and back to be able to go through the portal in Blorfloog (strange name that one). When I came back, no more chat showing up. I tried a private instance and still no chat. I hope it comes back but I don't know if it will. Should I submit another log and ticket or add to the existing ticket with another log file?

_________________
Image

Win 7 64bit-Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0GHz-4GB mem-EVGA GeForce GTX 260oc-Creative SB X-Fi Extreme Gamer - 15MB fiber optic conn


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 7:57 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 5:21 pm
Posts: 2626
Location: Garland, TX - New 09/2014 KI # 60406 Moula
Sharaya wrote:
More weirdness. During and after the stress test, I was unable to see chat. I could type on the screen, but it would disappear and I wasn't able to see anyone else's or my chat.

I deleted the launchers and moved files then chat showed up. Hooray! I submitted a ticket and logs on both instances.

Now, today I was talking to Romer and Zam. Everything was fine until I had to log out and back to be able to go through the portal in Blorfloog (strange name that one). When I came back, no more chat showing up. I tried a private instance and still no chat. I hope it comes back but I don't know if it will. Should I submit another log and ticket or add to the existing ticket with another log file?


I would add the new info to the exsisting ticket.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 8:51 pm 
Offline
Former MystOnline Moderator

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:05 pm
Posts: 4208
Location: 56°2'26", -3°20'28"
D'Lanor wrote:
Edit: Yes, I had the default values (start chat unmapped) but when I pressed the "defaults" button it put a Y there! And it could not be removed. :x

The only way to get it back to unmapped would be hacking the ini file I guess...

I got into the same state. Fixed it by setting start chat to '.' (period); since this was already being used for Sidestep Right it unmapped the sidestep. I then re-set Sidestep Right to '.' and I got back to an unmapped Start Chat. I expect you could go through a similar process to unmap all the unwanted ones.

Basically just a variation on Golden Wedge's solution.

_________________
Image Mac - MOULagain KI#00004826 00004289
In the interests of the environment, this post has been constructed entirely from recycled electrons.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 8:57 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:13 pm
Posts: 3426
Location: Lost in the void
Yeah, but as GW already said it won't save and the Y mapping is back at the next log in.

_________________
D'Lanor (ɹǝʇunч puǝƃǝן uɐqɹn)
Image
KI# 33949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 9:00 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:48 pm
Posts: 755
Location: California
D'Lanor, Maybe that changed. My mapping stayed when I quit and relogged. Maybe it stays the same day, but loses after a day?

_________________
Image

Win 7 64bit-Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0GHz-4GB mem-EVGA GeForce GTX 260oc-Creative SB X-Fi Extreme Gamer - 15MB fiber optic conn


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron