It is currently Wed Nov 25, 2020 12:04 pm

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 495 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 29, 30, 31, 32, 33  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:22 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:02 pm
Posts: 1491
Location: Hanging around with mermaids. And still looking for the elusive Funky Bahro.
Well, I took the sneaky route - I contacted my ISP (Time Warner's Roadrunner) and switched from Roadrunner Lite (about 400kb/s) to Roadrunner Turbo (she told me 15 MB/s!!) - and that solved it! Of course, it also adds $16US/month to my cable bill, but it won't kill me.

I did notice one other thing, though. Linking around made my PC crash in places like K'veer and Tokotah. (That's the whole PC, not just MOUL.) However, when I tried it on my Mac, no problems whatsoever.

*Sigh* It's so good to be back "home" in the Cavern. I hope everybody else gets their problems solved soon.

_________________
New to Uru? See this video.

KI numbers:
TOOO 24657
Magical Mystery TOOO 643784
Institution TOOO 816645
Karaoke TOOO 816776

~and featuring~

Murinna (the mermaid) 2484723
Mallina (the other mermaid) 3015052

Second Life: TOOO Fall


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:29 pm 
Offline
Former MystOnline Moderator

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:05 pm
Posts: 4208
Location: 56°2'26", -3°20'28"
Looks like the auth server has gone sick - I'm Net 6'ing all over the place suddenly.

[edit] Back in now but it took a dozen attempts and over 30 minutes [/edit]

_________________
Image Mac - MOULagain KI#00004826 00004289
In the interests of the environment, this post has been constructed entirely from recycled electrons.


Last edited by Mac_Fife on Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:30 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 12:55 pm
Posts: 9852
Location: Luton, UK
Quote:
(about 400kb/s) to Roadrunner Turbo (she told me 15 MB/s!!) -
Good move, TOOO! Your initial connection speed was only just above the threshold where in times of 0 seconds remaining you wouldn't have been able to connect at all!

(Another Mac_Fife production :D).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 9:44 am
Posts: 44
Location: Scotland
Just back from holiday and now join the network error 6 fan club.
I've ticketed the problem to Live Support. :?

Unfortunately I was in the middle of completing Ahnonay with Ri'ana when I got disconnected from the Server and now all I get is a lengthy update 10mins and increasing followed by Network error 6, Disconnected from Server protocol: Auth Server.

Can someone tell Ri'ana I'll be back to finish Ahnonay when I get let back in, please? :cry:

Will I have to wait long before I can complete Ahnonay? Because there are rumours that December's sparkly is in Myst and don't you have to complete Ahnonay to get to K'Veer to get to Myst. :x

Is there any hope?
Loki

_________________
KI #01440844


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 11:00 pm
Posts: 146
Loki wrote:
Don't you have to complete Ahnonay to get to K'Veer to get to Myst. :x

Is there any hope?
Loki


[spoiler]You have to complete Ahnonay to get to K'veer to collect your very own Myst Book for your Relto bookshelf, yes - however, you can *visit* someone else's Myst by going via their Relto - that's enough to collect the Sparklie.[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 9:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:49 pm
Posts: 23
When I changed GlobalMaxTcpWindowSize in Registry back to hex'7FFF and Tcp1323Opts back to 1 and all my Network errors didn't show up any more.
Now the servers don't need to handle anymore too many errors. The servers got hundreds of retransmissions and Duplicate ACKs until they gave up. URU runs faster now.
Thanks for all your help and advices.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:01 pm 
Offline
Former MystOnline Moderator

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:05 pm
Posts: 4208
Location: 56°2'26", -3°20'28"
Sigurd wrote:
When I changed GlobalMaxTcpWindowSize in Registry back to hex'7FFF and Tcp1323Opts back to 1 and all my Network errors didn't show up any more.

TCPWindowSize (RWIN) usually takes precedence over the value set in GlobalMaxTCPWindowSize unless you set the GlobalMaxTCPWindowSize to be smaller than TCPWindowSize. Tcp1323Opts=1 means you have Window scaling turned on (ie TCPWindowSize has a value bigger than 0xFFFF [65535]) and Time Stamping turned off.

Changing RWIN effectively alters how long your PC waits before sending an ACK (acknowledge back to the server), so reducing RWIN can reduce the risk of timeouts, but will reduce the overall throughput, and vice versa. RWIN should be a multiple of your MSS (Maximum Segment Size), especially if RWIN is about 12000 or less.

For anyone else, rather than messing around in the Registry, I'd be inclined to recommend using TweakTester to see if there's any gains to be made in adjusting any of your TCP settings, then using DrTCP to apply those changes. DrTCP doesn't need to be installed. You need to reboot for any changes to take effect.

Don't bother with this if you've got Vista though - it dynamically adjusts your TCP settings anyway, and so far as I know, no registry "tweaks" make any difference.

_________________
Image Mac - MOULagain KI#00004826 00004289
In the interests of the environment, this post has been constructed entirely from recycled electrons.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:45 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1669
Location: Lakewood, WA
Mac_Fife wrote:
I'd be inclined to recommend using TweakTester to see if there's any gains to be made in adjusting any of your TCP settings, then using DrTCP to apply those changes.

I concur. I have been using their tools for years. I check these settings every couple of months. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 2:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:49 pm
Posts: 23
Mac_Fife wrote:
For anyone else, rather than messing around in the Registry, I'd be inclined to recommend using TweakTester to see if there's any gains to be made in adjusting any of your TCP settings, then using DrTCP to apply those changes. DrTCP doesn't need to be installed. You need to reboot for any changes to take effect.

I tried TweakTester and DrTCP and everythig works great. Nice tools.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:00 pm
Posts: 4095
Last weekend, I was in the game a lot of times and for the first time
in a long while, I experienced many server's and/or game bugs.

1- Screen freezes.
2- Net 6 error
3- Net 5 error
4- Open Nexus book, empty
5- Somebody's Tsogal (sorry, I do not remember the name) who had two #4 cloths.

And some players I was trying to help also had crashes.

My bugs (except got the Nexus book) happened while I was in someone else ages.

Btw, I am playing the Standalone version.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 4:08 am
Posts: 18
Location: Buffalo, NY
I have been trying to get through the whole 10 min. updating screen time. and network errors trying to log in during the preparing to link main screen. Is all this still happening for everyone else? I just switched to an iMac and i have this problem with the stand alone client. I tried the mac version of gametap and get stuck at searching for updates for uru. At my parents house the Windows XP version of my game still works fine. Just wondering why its screwing up for me on the iMac.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:16 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:13 pm
Posts: 3426
Location: Lost in the void
Terminator-X wrote:
Is all this still happening for everyone else?

No, sorry. Just for a select unhappy few. See http://www.mystonline.com/forums/viewto ... &start=465

_________________
D'Lanor (ɹǝʇunч puǝƃǝן uɐqɹn)
Image
KI# 33949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 3:10 am
Posts: 792
Location: Oz
Terminator-X wrote:
I just switched to an iMac and i have this problem with the stand alone client. I tried the mac version of gametap and get stuck at searching for updates for uru. At my parents house the Windows XP version of my game still works fine. Just wondering why its screwing up for me on the iMac.

An illuminating experiment would be to take the iMac to your parents' house and see if Uru works, and/or see if it works on the Windows machine at your house.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 16
I want to get all of the stuff I need to get before the first I wish they would do as they say and keep it at 5 minutes its been like an hour and I cant get on still Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:04 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:02 pm
Posts: 1491
Location: Hanging around with mermaids. And still looking for the elusive Funky Bahro.
Well, I see they're having yet another "routine maintenance" for the server today. It was supposed to be around 5 am EST, and only take 5 minutes.

That was two hours ago, and I'm still getting "No response from serve(r)".

I really wish they'd get their act together.

_________________
New to Uru? See this video.

KI numbers:
TOOO 24657
Magical Mystery TOOO 643784
Institution TOOO 816645
Karaoke TOOO 816776

~and featuring~

Murinna (the mermaid) 2484723
Mallina (the other mermaid) 3015052

Second Life: TOOO Fall


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 495 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 29, 30, 31, 32, 33  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron