It is currently Wed Nov 25, 2020 10:40 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 244 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 7:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 11:58 am
Posts: 43
Location: Patras,Greece
aallan wrote:
Have to admit...with all the get togethers in the City to test capacity and the like....I feel a tad left out. :(



I wish i could be there too, but i have the same Physx problem. On top of that, players from my country are not allowed yet.... How's that for feeling left out? :roll:
Have patience, we will all be there some day!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 5:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:44 am
Posts: 256
Location: Ontario, Canada
nikolas wrote:
I wish i could be there too, but i have the same Physx problem. On top of that, players from my country are not allowed yet.... How's that for feeling left out? :roll:
Have patience, we will all be there some day!


I am beginning to feel like a foreigner myself LOL. And I just got my passsport updated! :P

Cheers nikolas!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 5:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:45 am
Posts: 8
Location: North Carolina, USA
I had been using a newer machine and decided to check out the beta on the family PC. It's an AMD Athlon 1.2, probably about 4 years old. :shock: Yes, I too have the "physx not installed or older version is installed" loop problem.

I tried most of the suggestions here including trying all the Physx installs available from the AGEIA website. Interestingly, when I installed the oldest version out there (2.5.1), the Physx Demo worked but it did not resolve the problem myst_online_beta has with Physx on this machine.

I have logged the issue. I hope we see a resolution before open beta or my son will be hounding me for access to my PC.

_________________
Avatar: Eoin
KI: TBD


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 2:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:44 am
Posts: 256
Location: Ontario, Canada
I do not think you will see a resolution until the very end. Of course it has been indicated by other that Ageia is trying to help Cyan resolve the issue. That in of itself may mean a fix after launch. Its not a priority for Cyan et al since there are other serious issues for them to deal with.

In the end we all would not want them to launch until things are set to rights and URU is a pretty solid product.

I admit I am frustrated being left out, heck I guess my posts demonstrate that frustration, but.......even so.......they got to get it running smoothly for the majority that can get in. In the end good things come to those that wait.....hopefully waiting will pay off.

Cheers!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 2:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:42 pm
Posts: 266
Location: TMP Hood in MOULa
Greetings eoin and welcome to the "Outsiders Club". Sorry to hear about your trouble with this glitch, of course, but the more people affected and complaining will hopefully influence Ageia to expedite this matter and work with Cyan to get us in game soon, sooner than launch too! :wink:

_________________
MOULa KI 211837


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 1:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:31 pm
Posts: 8
Location: PhysX Installation Loop
All I did the last five weeks in beta is watching the "Missing PhysX" message. There is no fun any more. The support ran out of ideas to try a month ago.
Are they still working on the problem?


Last edited by Wolfgang on Sun Dec 03, 2006 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 2:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:42 pm
Posts: 266
Location: TMP Hood in MOULa
Both Cyan and Ageia are aware of the glitch which seems to be a problem with the Ageia installer. Hopefully it will be fixed soon.

_________________
MOULa KI 211837


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:16 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:35 pm
Posts: 5
I too have been unable to take part in the beta, due to being able to get past the PhysX installer bug. I doubt I'll be able to afford a subscription once it goes live, so I hope Ageia can get the installer fixed before the end of the open beta.

-Classicsmiley


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:42 pm
Posts: 266
Location: TMP Hood in MOULa
I hope that everyone has submitted reports/tickets to Cyan about your PhysX problems and also written to Ageia about it. Posting here is definitely not enough.

_________________
MOULa KI 211837


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:44 am
Posts: 256
Location: Ontario, Canada
Looking at my open tickets, many of which I closed since they dealt with update 7 and are no longer valid since I cannot get in......I have the PhysX bug reported 2 times and the last response Cyan game me when they asked if I was using a legal copy of XP (whats that about) I have had not support ...I have inquired but have had no responses.

I have to say their support is awful....but I am giving them room as I think this really is their first time dealing with a game of this nature. BUT the support better be 100% better on launch day. Its just a suggestion from me as I am sure we have all had good and bad experiences with support for other software, hardware, etc.

I would like to see a separate CLEAR and UPDATED board indicating what issues they are focussing on so as to know how to deal with my/our issue. This can only help us in beta testing.

In the mean time lets wait and see what Cyan comes up with for us and other having issues with getting in. Lets give them a little more time and see what they say.

Now.....its back to Xmas shopping. Lets all enjoy the season and holidays here and coming up. Maybe Cyan will have a little present under the tree for us.

Cheers!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 10:50 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:36 am
Posts: 1477
you can go to http://update.microsoft.com to run thier validation software and confirm with Microsof tthat you have a valid copy. if you have already done that, then update the ticket with it. Update weekly with the problem is still happening so that the helpdesk will be aware of it.

_________________
Greypiffle Fogg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 10:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:31 pm
Posts: 8
Location: PhysX Installation Loop
LaReh wrote:
and also written to Ageia about it.


Wouldn't that violate the NDA?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 1:16 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:13 pm
Posts: 3426
Location: Lost in the void
greypiffle wrote:
you can go to http://update.microsoft.com to run thier validation software and confirm with Microsof tthat you have a valid copy. if you have already done that, then update the ticket with it. Update weekly with the problem is still happening so that the helpdesk will be aware of it.

There is an easier way to tell. If you have recently been able to install IE7 or Windows Media Player 11 then your Windows XP copy is valid. They refuse to install on invalid copies.

_________________
D'Lanor (ɹǝʇunч puǝƃǝן uɐqɹn)
Image
KI# 33949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 9:55 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:17 am
Posts: 1702
Location: Spokane, WA
Wolfgang wrote:
LaReh wrote:
and also written to Ageia about it.


Wouldn't that violate the NDA?

Not anymore.

_________________
Grand Master
Guild of Archivists


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:44 am
Posts: 256
Location: Ontario, Canada
greypiffle wrote:
you can go to http://update.microsoft.com to run thier validation software and confirm with Microsof tthat you have a valid copy. if you have already done that, then update the ticket with it. Update weekly with the problem is still happening so that the helpdesk will be aware of it.


Thanks but I do have a valid version of Windows XP and told them as such. I did do updates to the situation when they introduce new patches/updates. But still no reply. I do not expect one since they are most likely still working on it or waiting for Ageia or whomever. BUT I would like an update as to progress or what they are doing about it. Silence is annoying and not the best of support.

So, lets just say I have done everything I can do except reinstall a clean windows (not happening and should not have to) or buy a new machine (planning to but not because of URU).

I suppose the only way I could get a response from them is I write to them in support everyday and become more annoying to them as I am sure I have been in the past if they have read my posts.

Cheers! and back to work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 244 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron