It is currently Mon Nov 23, 2020 10:57 pm

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:00 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 12:36 am
Posts: 259
Location: kansas
OK...what's the deal?
i go to my puter this evening to log on to the closed Beta shortcut and it tells me that this is not a valid shortcut.
now the silly thing doesnt even do anything.
I cant go through GT cause i'm running W2K and cant play (even though i'm paying for it)
SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME!

_________________
where the world flattens out, people fall off, and we're still looking for TOTO
AKA--nita
member of the Guild of Greeters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:25 am
Posts: 2031
Location: Sadly in Germany
momamia wrote:
I cant go through GT cause i'm running W2K and cant play (even though i'm paying for it)


I don't follow. You're subscribing to a service you could never even use to begin with?

_________________
Sören Nils 'chucker' Kuklau

(Or something.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:09 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 12:36 am
Posts: 259
Location: kansas
i wanted to support the Live verson of URU and wasnt aware that i had to have XP to play thru GT.
the main problem is that i logged onto Beta shortcut tonight and CTD and when i restarted my puter, the shortcut no longer worked.

_________________
where the world flattens out, people fall off, and we're still looking for TOTO
AKA--nita
member of the Guild of Greeters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:06 am
Posts: 526
Location: California, USA
What do you mean by "closed Beta shortcut"? Do you mean the shortcut icon that was placed on your desktop by the beta client you downloaded thru GameTap? If so, my shortcut still works and I have not changed anything since I downloaded the beta client.

Since your failure to launch immediately followed a crash requiring you to reboot, something probably went awry on your PC when you crashed; try cleaning up your PC (scan, defrag, etc.).

If all else fails, you might need to uninstall and reinstall the beta client.

_________________
Image
KI # not assigned yet


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: crash
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 4:15 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 12:36 am
Posts: 259
Location: kansas
I think you're correct---i had to go into my folders and create a shortcut to that link. i will defrag tonight, cause i got to looking and some files are not where they're supposed to be.
Also, after i created the shortcut i was able to get back into the game.
NOW if someone can tell me if i am subscribing in vain to GT, i'd appreciate it. i'm sure GT wouldnt tell me to quit...LOL

_________________
where the world flattens out, people fall off, and we're still looking for TOTO
AKA--nita
member of the Guild of Greeters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 5:15 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 3:19 am
Posts: 289
Location: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
I don't have an answer yet, but I submitted a ticket earlier this week on the W2K loading issue, spoke with a techrep at GameTap, and received feedback from Cyan that indicated that there was going to be some discussion between both parties.

Cross your fingers,
Cross your toes.
Hold your breath,
And hope it goes...

_________________
"What are we going to do today, Borg?"
"Same thing we always do, Pinkutus:
Try to assimilate the world!"
-Pinkutus & the Borg


Ad astra
Aut viam inveniam aut faciam


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: W2K
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 12:44 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 12:36 am
Posts: 259
Location: kansas
Thanks for letting me know...i'll wait to see what they both say before i unsubscribe to GT. No sence in paying for what i cant use.

_________________
where the world flattens out, people fall off, and we're still looking for TOTO
AKA--nita
member of the Guild of Greeters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 3:34 am
Posts: 208
Location: Tillamook, ORegon USA
I am running XP, but when my Myst online GT Beta shortcut stopped working, I logged on to GT and downloaded an update to Ver. 1.7.0.70 (actual#)

Then I downloaded the GT Myst online Beta Preview from the GT Main page. Linking through that gave me back my Closed beta game with all my avatar's (3).

When back to desktop my Myst online closed Beta shortcut worked again. No Problems.

Been using that ever since. I don't have to go through GT's Preview log in.

The Preview is going to get wiped on the 22nd I believe. Whether or not my Closed Beta goes with it, remains to be seen.

But, like I said, I am WIN XP.

FYI

Traveler


Last edited by Traveler on Mon Dec 18, 2006 2:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 3:58 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 6:11 pm
Posts: 254
Location: Connecticut
I believe Travelers is right. You have to keep GT updated. So maybe every so often log into GT and make sure it is up to date. As long it is updated, the shortcut should work.

_________________
Avatar: 4runner
KI# 00140932


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 12:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 11:51 am
Posts: 510
Some quick (and possibly unwarranted) thoughts/rant on URU's integration with GT

From this point on it gets harsh, but I feel it has to be said, and before anyone thinks I'm ungrateful to GT, I’m not, however they need to get this one point right.

Myst was successful because of passive marketing; I think the GT client is a form of active and in your face marketing, personally that is something I don't want on my computer!!

There are also technical issues I have...

If the integration is anything like what steam was like in the very early months. People are very quickly going to get hacked off with a lack of informative messages, crummy downloads, pants reliability, and frankly a frustrating user experience.

I can already start to see where the integration with the GT client is going to go, and this thread is almost on that border line of:

"I can't play URU because someone somewhere though it a good idea to FORCE a bloated GUI on to my computer so I can be bombarded with marketing I don’t want"

So if I’m interested in playing just URU, I certainly am not willing to fork out cash and have a jumble of C/C++ code tell me that "an error occurred, please try again later"

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE ... allow the URU client to be detached from the bloat that is the GT client ... for the initial sign up and downloads ... yes I can handle that ... but afterwards, an icon the desktop and no dependency on the GT client to update URU.

Most folk here will only sign up to GT to get URU, myself included so this could be false foresight ... but I don't fancy going to play URU only to have a pointless "marketing" GUI crash out on me because of errors in it.

As I said above these are personal views that could be unwarranted, but I want to air them, and most importantly to be proved wrong :P

Posts in response to this will not be replied to! So have at it :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: GT and Cyan discussion
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 3:04 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 12:36 am
Posts: 259
Location: kansas
Well, Robin....
have you heard anything more about the W2K users being able to play UL through GT?

_________________
where the world flattens out, people fall off, and we're still looking for TOTO
AKA--nita
member of the Guild of Greeters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron