It is currently Mon Nov 23, 2020 9:54 pm

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:05 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:36 am
Posts: 1477
Twi-Lite and I noticed that if you login via GamneTap, no log files are generated.

I guess that if we find a bug and want the logs for it, we need to switch to the stand-alone version for that.

_________________
Greypiffle Fogg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:06 am
Posts: 526
Location: California, USA
They are in a different location:
C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\My Documents\Uru Live\Log

_________________
Image
KI # not assigned yet


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:20 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:36 am
Posts: 1477
That's where the stand-alone version is. If you go through gametap, you get no logs.

_________________
Greypiffle Fogg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:42 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 5:20 pm
Posts: 589
Location: State of Confusion
Not so Grey...Malia is correct. I renamed my urulive folder in my documents and then logged into Live via gametap. It recreated the directory and all the new logs are there. I then used the /dumplogs command and it dumped my logs to the same directory.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 2:16 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:36 am
Posts: 1477
so it just doesn't work for me then. must be a bug.
when I remove all the files from teh directory and then run the Gametap version, no files are created.

_________________
Greypiffle Fogg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 3:35 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:31 am
Posts: 67
Location: Connecticut
hmmm, I get files in the log folder, but they are elf files....the plasmalog.txt file has 0 kb. that was the place where I always checked my logs....

can someone else verify this? Because if its only me and Greypiffle, then we need to report it, I guess....

Twi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 3:41 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 4:48 am
Posts: 935
Location: Northern Colorado
They disabled plain-text log files when we moved to the 'ajar' beta on GameTap, so .elf files and a 0 size plasmalog.txt is what you should get.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 4:09 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:31 am
Posts: 67
Location: Connecticut
ok, thanks, i feel better now....I just went back into the game...and looked at the log folder again, and it has elf files, but the plasmalog.txt file is still 0, so that should explain it....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 4:28 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 4:48 am
Posts: 935
Location: Northern Colorado
For some reason, the plasmalog.txt has always been empty, through all versions of URU. From the filename, it sounds like it was meant to keep debugging messages from the graphics engine, so perhaps it was only used in early development. :?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 4:36 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:31 am
Posts: 67
Location: Connecticut
well, it was working earlier...helped with information on bugs we were reporting...that was why, when I started going through the GameTap client, I noticed that it was empty.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 4:52 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:36 am
Posts: 1477
I removed my Gametap Uru, and let it reinstall. Then moved my dat files to it so I don't ahve to spend forevere updating.
NOW I get log files from Gametap - must have been a bum install.

_________________
Greypiffle Fogg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 8:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 2:28 am
Posts: 297
Location: New Zealand
Twi-lite wrote:
well, it was working earlier...helped with information on bugs we were reporting...that was why, when I started going through the GameTap client, I noticed that it was empty.

That wasn't the plasmalog.txt file, that was a different .txt file, which got removed as Tofer said when we went to 'ajar' beta.

_________________
Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: