It is currently Fri Jan 22, 2021 2:48 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:06 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:40 am
Posts: 113
Location: Montana
I have been analizing my log files and it seems that when error occures there is an log entry about not being able to load AvatarCustomization Age. I solved this by deleting

C:\Program Files\Myst Online\dat\AvatarCustomization.age,
C:\Program Files\Myst Online\dat\AvatarCustomization.fni,
C:\Program Files\Myst Online\dat\AvatarCustomization_District_BuiltIn.prp,
C:\Program Files\Myst Online\dat\AvatarCustomization_District_Closet.prp,
C:\Program Files\Myst Online\dat\AvatarCustomization_District_Textures.prp

Substitute your drive letter and path in for C:\Program Files\Myst Online\

After this just start your game back up and the updater will redownload these files for you

You can try this and see if it helps you. Post here with your results.
I have replied to my tickets with this solution, if it works for you go ahead and post it on yours also.

I have searched and havent seen this method if you have posted it here before me please tell me.

Legal Stuff coming up
**Disclamer**
This method is not authorized by Cyan or GameTap and might have bad results. Do not try if you feel uncomforable deleting installation files.

Noga56

PS In that directory there is a file called CustomAvatars_District_RandMiller.prp I wonder what that means :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 612
Location: West Australia
There should also be the others there somewhere
It's Just the full bits to make him up like
MMLShoe01
MMPants01
MMRHand01
MMRShoe01
MMTorso01
Rand_HHead01
Rand_LHead01
Rand_MHead01
RandMiller

:)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:22 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:40 am
Posts: 113
Location: Montana
Now that I look they are in there. This means we might see Rand himself on the game. Now that would be cool.

Noga56


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 9:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:46 am
Posts: 113
Location: Vienna/Austria
Ahhhh, great, that's the solution!

This workaround has solved my problems, and now I can start the game. I found also my generatet avatar-names from last try.

Thanks!

juri1at


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 9:49 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 11:29 am
Posts: 10
Location: Coburg, Germany
Man, you really made my day! :) Finally I'm able to see my Relto again and can start to 'enjoy' the black screen features of Uru Live ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 10:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 612
Location: West Australia
Image

Tomala has a great pic of 5 Rands all in the game at the same time. :wink:

I should mention these were taken on a UU shard NOT Beta


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 10:40 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 6:38 pm
Posts: 787
Dude, you know who that looks like? RAND MILLER!

:D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 11:04 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:27 pm
Posts: 1
deleted files as listed, and Uru reloaded then as suggested.
but then it hangs.
Watching transfers in the firewall program, there's a 5.6MB come from beta-auth.urulive.com but now reduced to tiny trickle of comms, and the initial 170K from beta-file.urulive.com ... and that's it - just this tiny trickle.

The program isn't dead - it responds to windows & mouse, but is waiting for other actions (external) before it actually *does* anything...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 11:44 am 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 3:59 pm
Posts: 373
Location: France
Thank you very much for your tip ! Noga56 :idea:

I have used this tip to solve 2 cases :
    ° one of my buddies has never been able to create her first avatar. She's defined now...
    ° I'm unable to create a second avatar and now I have a brand new one.

A Great Help ! Thanks :wink:


Last edited by Amarok on Sun Nov 26, 2006 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 12:06 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 11:08 pm
Posts: 842
Location: Stuck in a snow bank :(
Hi Noga56,

I was hoping this would fix the link error I am getting. At books where the avatar kneels to link, after the avatar kneels and touches the page all freezes for perhaps 15 sec. and then the sound returns and the avatar twitches at about a twitch/3-5 second. I first hit this when trying to use the rooftop bahro page on Gira. I just got a second avvie up and he gets it on the initial single pillar to link to the Cleft at the start so he is blocked at the very beginning. Well thanks, gave it a shot. :wink:

_________________
jek main avvie is lightkeeper
MO:UL is: Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 12:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 6:22 pm
Posts: 374
Location: Virginia USA
jek: a possible work around for this is to have someone send you an invite to their age. After you use that, you may be able to use your own linking book..

I just did this for Gira (TY Sheila R for the link!) and now I have a Gira book. Unfortunately, I can't link on to Kemo! LOL...will go and beg for a new link.

Kate
edit: hmm..didnt work for Kemo....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 3:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 5:37 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Alabama
I am still having the same problems. I updated my support ticket and added my log files.

I am still hoping to get in eventually. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 4:45 pm 
Offline
Obduction Backer

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 9:24 pm
Posts: 56
Location: Outer Banks, NC
Tried it and still get the same network error... sigh... I'll try again later this week. Thanks for the info though!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 2:28 pm
Posts: 39
Location: England
ive also tried this method and it still fails - network error


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:27 am
Posts: 3
I seem to be having similar issues. . .I have yet to enter the game and explore since the beta opened :cry:

I checked the logs and get this error:
Code:
[UruLive] Debug Create player failed: kNetErrTimeout


Tried the idea of deleting the AvatarCustomization stuffs, but to no avail. . .

Can anyone else even log in today? Or is this an issue with just us who have yet to create an avatar?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: